Global Autism Outreach – The Really, Really Like Me Project

20130906-221140.jpg

When I created this blog, I had intentions of writing something and hoping the world would read it. It was a naive dream but I don’t give up easily. At first I was not sure what I wanted the blog to have in it. Poetry? Prose? My life as a person with Asperger Syndrome? What the heck, why not all three?

But then as I was writing and people were responding to my posts on Autism/Aspergers I realized I had found this amazing level of support. Out of that support came hope, and out of that hope came an idea.

I wanted to make a difference. I always have and I think that I have in some ways. But one night an idea hit me to write a children’s book. I had authored two poetry books and had no experience in children’s books. I wrote the manuscript and then immediately started searching for how to get it published. After many phone calls, I was introduced to Dani Bowman (by phone) and we created a plan for the book.

After an inspiring crowdfund raising success to help pay for illustrations, my hopes started to rise for this book to see completion. I still wasn’t sure what would happen when it was published but I knew I would figure that out in time.

When the book was finally finished I considered a few different options and then suddenly it dawned on me. Why not reach out to different universities and organizations world wide and donate a copy to them? Because I am not a celebrity author, any PR needs to come from me. But this isn’t about money or fame…in fact, I’ve spent quite a bit on this book already and honestly I don’t regret it at all. I’m loving this.

Call me a fool if you want but, for me, this is about making a difference. It’s an expensive project to undertake but I have already been able to donate a hard copy to organizations in Massachusetts, New Jersey, Washington, Connecticut, Alaska, New York, California, Texas, Hawaii, China, Bermuda, Trinidad, England, Ireland, Spain, Canada, Greece, Southern Austrailia, Scotland, and in PDF format to South Africa and El Salvador. More to come!

My dream is for this book to be world wide. Not necessarily that everyone would have a copy (Although that would be amazing!) but even just the copies that I have sent out could be passed from person to person and hopefully make children smile and maybe learn a lesson on acceptance before the book is passed on again.

As I have said before, I don’t give up easily. Autism awareness and acceptance is one of my biggest passions because of those who have taught me that my disability does not own me and really if you think about it, in one way or another you are really, really just like me. Not sure about that?

Just read the book. You’ll see.

Sincerely,
Gretchen Leary

Twitter @Gretchenleary
http://www.gretchenleary.com

About Gretchen Leary

I am 27 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in ASD, Aspergers, Autism, Really, Really Like Me, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Global Autism Outreach – The Really, Really Like Me Project

  1. Wow….that seems to be quite a project.

  2. brian miller says:

    i know it will be worth it…and that you are the one to do it too…smiles. i am all about making a difference…

  3. Awesome idea hope to read book soon. You have reached NZ

  4. Pingback: My Global Autism Project | K. C.

  5. I bought a copy and am passing it around our church community. It’s important for people to understand the differences aren’t so huge… Thanks, Gretchen, for writing a wonderful lesson for all ages! Amy

  6. Insung says:

    Wow you are amazing! Thank you for inspiring me so much!! :)

Leave a Reply

