Cozy

If I had it my way- everything about life would be what I consider “cozy”.

Cotton flannel pajama pants have literally gained the nickname “cozies” these days with me. I think of hot peppermint tea, sitting in front of a fire reading a book, the warmth of Christmas Eve, watching Seinfeld, wearing my amazing slippers, reading a funny or romantic book while its raining outside…so many things make me feel the “warm and fuzzies” and that is fantastic considering how many things make me want to rip my hair out.

Let’s name a few: people touching styrofoam, getting my hair combed at the hair salon, any temperature over 65, if it’s too sunny, too many people are talking, if someone is staring at me, if the clock ticking is all I can hear, if the water is too hot, if my feet are too cold, if someone shuts the door too fast, if I have to drop the toilet seat, if the music is too soft- if the music is too loud, if I’ve never seen the movie before, if I’ve never eaten that food before..

I would hope that by now you’ve heard enough and you’re probably starting to see my point.

I  do my best to live for the “cozy” moments in my life because I feel like if I hyper-focus on everything swirling around me that either irritates me or makes me want to scream- this life would be a hell on earth.

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in ASD, Aspergers, Autism. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

