First Poem I ever Wrote (9th Grade)

Masterpiece By the Sea

By Gretchen Anne Gundel

While building a sandcastle,
I build slowly carefully making perfect grooves,
Molding walls and bridges making sure they’re smooth.
Creating each bold new tower,
Making each one strong and tall.
The middle,
The biggest,
Tallest of them all.
Now that I am finished,
I lay back and admire,
My pride glows like the flame of a fire.
As stars begin to shimmer like silver along the vast charcoal sky,
Across the beach I roam,
Leaving behind a small trail of footprints which lead to my home.
I still remember that masterpiece of mine.
But it is only one of them,
All great and fine.

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

