Oldies…

These poems were found in either my book Monochrome or Welcome to My Yesterday (under Gretchen Gundel)

A Colder Season

By Gretchen Anne Gundel

Kindle the flickering light
Within your palm.
Gather the candles, and inscribe
their flame unto your heart.
For if Winter’s first flake should
Fall,
Freeze your tender voice,
And dares to frost your soul,
Your silent hope remains.

Color of Passion

By Gretchen Anne Gundel

Silver fingertips brush my lips
As you mouth those three words
Those words repeating like one
Of those songs
Where you can only remember the chorus
Those three words sing to me tonight.
As I hear it begin to rain.
A smile swirls into place
As the moon peers through the blinds
And lights your face
In the color of passion.

Our December

By Gretchen Anne Gundel

Precious black and white memories
framed in rainbows of laughter,
Your smile measures in chords
Your colors surround me.
\Spring’s joy in your eye
while Winter’s snowflakes
tickle our cheeks
with shivers of kisses,
And your heart sings lullabies
to my teddybear smile.
On this rocking porch swing,
Stars blink back tears and burst-
As I hear the distant flutter
of Cupid’s praying wings.

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oldies…

  1. My oldest stuff is so different than my newest style but it has its..charm I guess lol. I wrote most of those in 10th grade Chemistry class

Leave a Reply

