Crescendo – A Poem

A sudden crescendo of
clouds crashing
Robbing me of
hard earned peace
I clap my trembling hands
Over my aching ears

I can feel the energy of the
Lightning slicing through
The black of night
Blinding me momentarily
From the light
I’m desperately seeking
My senses battle undefeated
My inner-being screaming
As the storm roars on within me
Though the clouds
have long retreated

I close my eyes to focus
Each breath is heavy-
Lost in the chaotic fight
Between my faith and my anxiety
My body weak
but still awake as day
Praying that the soft sound of rain
Will bring me to
a peaceful place again.

Written by: Gretchen Leary 2012

http://www.gretchenleary.com

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Crescendo – A Poem

  1. Lainey Leonard says:

    “Lost in the chaotic fight between my faith and my anxiety ”

    Too scared to trust ?

    Lovely work xxx

  2. It is interesting that you should mention your syndrome … it has no bearing on the way I view your work which is without reserve – wonderful!

  3. Imelda says:

    This is beautiful, Gretchen. You wove emotions and nature very well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

