Still Waiting – A Poem [Excerpt from M, 2006]

[Excerpt from Monochrome 2006]

Hood over face I walk these halls,

Hoping no one will notice,

No one will trip me,

No one will mock me.

I’ve almost adjusted to their mockery,

So why do these eyes still cry?

Is it for hope? For self pity?

Am I crying for a Savior to end this misery?

An emotional crucifixion.

I die inside each day hoping

That tomorrow will come,

But I’m still waiting.

[This poem was originally written in my high school years. People have asked me if my diagnosis of Asperger’s had come sooner, would it have helped. After reading this poem, what do you think now?]

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Still Waiting – A Poem [Excerpt from M, 2006]

  1. Hard to say, bullies, at least the ones at my school, wouldn’t have cared, and it makes me angry. I knew some kids who made fun of a girl who had something close to down syndrome. It wasn’t right, she had a good reason for not being like everyone else, bullies seem to have almost a psychopathic outlook. I think we need harsher punishment for them, to be honest.

  2. raeme67seriousreflections says:

    Sorry anyone has to go through this. I was picked on, too. I think it helped me be more empathetic, but I would gladly have not had the experience.
    Keep on raising awareness! Your doing a good job.

Leave a Reply

