To the Attention of: Josh Groban (@joshgroban) UPDATED

Dear World,

One of my biggest dreams right now, is for Josh Groban, to one day read this poem.

Having Asperger’s Syndrome, everything is intense. My writing is definitely intense as well but it is almost always inspired by a song. This particular poem was inspired by Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9 in D minor but a lot of my poetry has actually been inspired by Josh’s music and it would just simply mean so much for him to read it.

If you would share this blog post on Twitter, maybe one of these days, he will actually see my poem. [Edit: See picture below, Josh saw my poem!]

Thank-you all so much!

Sincerely,

Gretchen Leary

Ivory at Midnight – A Poem

Tempted by the soft glow

of smooth ivory keys

I slowly approach the

Piano that lies in wait for me.

As I begin, I breathe in

Slowly allowing my fingers to linger

Then firmly hold them down

Provoking their intensity

And unveiling their glorious sound

Evoking a symphony of raw emotion,

As an untold story unfolds,

Of victory, tragedy, and pure devotion-

Each note now swirling-

Surrounding me

As my trembling hands

Unravel the melody of my being.

Written by: Gretchen Leary

http://www.gretchenleary.com

20120509-112342.jpg

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in ASD, Aspergers, Autism, Dedications, Music, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to To the Attention of: Josh Groban (@joshgroban) UPDATED

  1. carrie says:

    How beautiful

    • Jenn says:

      Lovely

    • Thank-you for taking the time to read it. 🙂

    • The night I wrote this poem, I jolted up in bed and said “I have to go write something”. Then when I wrote this poem, I was listening to Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9 repeatedly and the image in my mind was very abstract. I was envisioning Beethoven approaching the piano and the emotion and dramatic feeling it would create to watch him play by the moonlight. I think this may be the favorite of my poems thus far. Thank-you so much for being the first to respond.

  2. Oqua says:

    incredible!!! ahh piano<3 oh, and… he saw it!!!! love him!!

  3. Maureen Gerrard says:

    So beautiful ,Gretchen I wish i could express my feelings ,(and play the piano),like you, Bless you Josh for reading it

  4. Paola says:

    Really beautiful Gretchen!!! Congrats, He read it!!

  5. Wellandtrulyjoshed says:

    Puts me in mind of February Song – fabulous Gretchen, so glad we know Josh read it, Well Done!

    • Thank-you for taking the time to read it. I am blown away by how generous he was by also sharing the poem so others could read it as well. It was so special. A moment I will never forget. 🙂

  6. Katie Blair says:

    Awesome. Sounds like words to a beautiful song. Also remember that if Josh said your poem is beautiful, it is really, really beautiful. Be proud.

  7. Pam Mayfield says:

    Oh my goodness, Gretchen… what a gift you have! Thank you for sharing it with us all, and I am so happy for you that Josh read it, too! I could picture myself as the pianist, slowly approaching a piano bathed in soft light, getting enveloped and finally lost in the music. Blessings!

  8. Loretta says:

    beautifully written and I am so happy for you that Josh read it!

  9. brenda says:

    A beautiful poem indeed! Thanks Gretchen for sharing.

  10. lariwind says:

    Really amazing!!!

  11. lariwind says:

    Simple good poetry…:)) Good luck, sweety!

  12. JudyA says:

    Thanks to Josh Groban, I had the pleasure of reading your beautiful poem also. You are truly talented. 🙂

  13. springingtiger says:

    I always think of Beethoven lying on the floor by his piano listening to his music in the vibration of the floorboards, amazing what we can achieve if determined enough!

  14. Alona Devoll says:

    Your style is really unique in comparison to other folks I have read stuff from. Thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this blog.|

Leave a Reply

