A Silent Prayer – A Poem (For A Friend- Heather)

“Why must people kneel down to pray? If I really wanted to pray I’ll tell you what I’d do. I’d go out into a great big field all alone or in the deep, deep woods and I’d look up into the sky – up, up, up – into that lovely blue sky that looks as if there was no end to its blueness. And then I’d just feel a prayer.”
L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

A Silent Prayer

Humbled I lie

In this endless field of heather

The skies have cleared

As I begin my silent prayer

A prayer of hope

A prayer of faith

A prayer of peace

Leaving me in awe

Of just how small we are

And to still know

You are there,

Sitting beside me.

Written by: Gretchen Leary 2012

www.gretchenleary.com

(Written while listening to: You Raise Me Up by Josh Groban)

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Dedications, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Silent Prayer – A Poem (For A Friend- Heather)

  1. Rachel from work says:

    Very moving and lovely, Gretchen.

  2. First off, I am so honored, & I would never mind if u used my name. This definitely was one of the most beautiful things I have ever read and I hope to be as accomplished and creative as u one day! Even though I am not doing the best these days due to the heart thing & now that Ive been diagnosed w/ endometriosis as well, your poem was so inspiring that no matter how bad I feel it will always bring a smile to my face. I actually feel not only special but famous since u are such a great author!:) Again thank u from the bottom of my heart:)
    Heather A.

  3. Laurie Kolp says:

    Poignant and very touching poem, Heather. I also like the song.

Leave a Reply

