Holiday Air – A Poem

As dusk falls I dance
From light post to light post
On the tips of my toes
Down this cold cobblestone road
I pass tiny shops in slumber
And find that the lonely peddlers
Have all gone home

My heart is simply overflowing
With a newfound dream
I twirl around endlessly
With my arms out
As snowflakes start falling
And I lift up my voice to sing

The small cottage awaits me
With small puffs of smoke,
I can see the soft glow
Of the Christmas Tree
And deep red ribbons that
Adorn my windows.

I lift up the heavy skirts
Of my evening ball-gown
To dash down the long
Dark winding path
As I pass the garden
And I slowly take a bow

Remembering that dance
That stole my heart tonight
With a deep sigh
Of a new love’s longing
I fall into the rickety arms
Of my wooden porch-swing

I close my eyes
And pull out the pins to
Let down my long hair
And breathe in the spice
And excitement of
The holiday air.

This was written while listening to Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s “Romeo & Juliet” and inspired by the whimsical paintings by Thomas Kinkade.

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Music, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Holiday Air – A Poem

  1. I now always read your poems while listening to the music you suggest.

    As I read this I envisioned a cross between Julie Andrews in the Sound of Music as she runs through the hills and a wintery scene from A Christmas Carol. Probably not what you intended but my mind drifted off into dreamland when I was reading this.

    Beautifully written Gretchen!
    Diane

  2. brian miller says:

    this is gorgeous…and magical…i love all the detail…the lamp posts and cobble stones and snow….the dance…it all weaves together beautifully….nice job gratchen…

  3. I love this it is so magical and I want to be that girl in your poem. Very Christmas and wintry which I love. Thank you for sharing.

    • Thank-you for reading. The music mentioned inspired this amazing image in my mind. Sort of like an old fashioned Disney character singing and dancing in a Thomas Kinkade painting 🙂

  4. Poet Laundry says:

    Really wonderful scene–enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

