Elemental Symphony – A Poem

20121215-203128.jpg

This was written while listening to Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Symphony No. 25. I encourage you to listen to this piece while reading this to experience the full intensity of this poem.

I stand atop the highest rock
Surrounded by nothing but
Open ocean and my thoughts

Breathing in deeply as
I see angry skies approaching-
Completely enchanted
I stand quite still-
Waiting.

I stand high on my toes
As the waves grow taller
And the swirling gusts of
Cool mist grow stronger

Dark smudged skies
Open and pour down on me
As I start swaying to
The quickening breeze
Imagining small schools
Of fishes waltzing below me

I tap my near frozen feet
To the beat of the thunder
And the storm’s heartbeat
Lost in a state of wonder

A sudden epiphany
Washes over me as
I begin waving my arms wildly
Hushing the roar of the waves
Taming the blasting winds mildly

To a softer melody as
To let the ocean sing
All the while directing
This elemental symphony

Written by: Gretchen Leary 2012
http://www.gretchenleary.com

20121215-202935.jpg

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Music, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Elemental Symphony – A Poem

  1. brian miller says:

    smiles…another nice one…i would probably tighten up a few of the I’s honestly…like the i see angry eyes…and lose the begin’s as well to keep it from passivity….def like the piece though…smiles

Leave a Reply

