Je Ne Sais Quoi – A Poem

This poem is a description of how small daily sensory issues affect my life. It might be a trigger for those who understand, so reader beware. This poem was written for those who don’t. I didn’t want a musical piece for this poem. My ears are too sensitive tonight. I don’t want pity- just your patience. Sometimes this world is too big for me.

There are no words
To describe my anxiety
There is no way to
Show you the intensity
Of how stress affects me

I would never wish this
Feeling on my worst enemy
The sunlight blinds me
As I reach for my keys
Too hot outside to breathe
My teeth are grinding

The too old screen door
Swings open with a scream
The springs have rusted
And the sounds go through me

Snapping
Shaking
Squeaking
Slamming

Take a deep breath
Don’t panic-
Just keep breathing
And start your routines

Socks and shoes off
I press my burning hot feet
To the cool wooden floors
And sigh in relief

I quickly find my way to
My favorite chair to read.
To escape to a world
That doesn’t judge me.

By Gretchen Leary 2012
www.gretchenleary.com

About Gretchen Leary

I am 31 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Je Ne Sais Quoi – A Poem

  1. jillsmo says:

    This is awesome ❤

  2. loubyjo says:

    really like this especially the bit about relaxing with a book

Leave a Reply

