Firefly – A Poem

I lie flat on my back
On this weathered raft
As my long hair spills
Down around me
Tangled with leaves

Blown and tossed
Into the crisp night breeze
As the tips slip into
The shattered black glass
That flows below me

The fireflies are dancing
Dreamy stars are fading
The river stirs and sighs
Slowly rocking me
To a state of peace
Like a summer lullaby

Written by: Gretchen Leary 2012
www.gretchenleary.com

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Firefly – A Poem

  1. literateyeti says:

    Beautiful!

  2. brian miller says:

    mm…your lullaby def rocks me as well…i love fireflies as well…a very gentle verse…

  3. love the hair tangling with the leaves.

  4. Lovely Gretchen. I love the rocking motion being on the water…lulls me to sleep. So peaceful.

Leave a Reply

