Goodnight – A Poem

20121215-203450.jpg

For Devin.

Written while listening to Epiphany by Staind. I would encourage you to listen to the song while reading this.

My fingers are trembling
As I write by the light
Of a clouded moon tonight

The resounding sound
Of your old steel strings
Play repeatedly within
The very depths of my being

The dark skies outside
Have opened wide
And behind my closed eyes
A storm is pouring down
Without a sound…

Written by Gretchen Leary 2012

http://www.gretchenleary.com

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Dedications, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Goodnight – A Poem

  1. brian miller says:

    felt poem…its hard losing someone, to miss a call on that day as well…ugh….that is heavy…a heart felt write…smiles..

  2. poemsofhateandhope says:

    tough poem….full of heartache…i could feel it and you set against some of the most melancholy images imaginable.

    • It was very difficult when he passed away. I didn’t quite follow the missing you rule but I wanted to share it. That song I was listening to while writing it made it so incredibly intense. It was one of the last things I heard him sing. It’s a very very long story.

Leave a Reply

