The Spark – A Poem & Dedication

Introduction & Dedication: This was written while listening to “Put it Down” by Brandy Norwood (@4EverBrandy on Twitter) The biggest reason I chose this song for writing inspiration today is because of the song’s rhythm & beat. The lyrics don’t correlate to my words but it is an awesome song altogether.

However, I listened to the song over ten times, no complaints here, on repeat to get a good strong beat. I encourage you to listen to the song before you read or while you read this and you will understand.

I dedicate this to Brandy for always being an inspirational woman of strength and to all of those out there that never give up. As an individual on the Autism Spectrum, I know what struggle feels like- but victory is sweet ~ GL

Spark

It’s time to let it go
It’s time to march on
Strength lies in numbers
But always starts with one

So take my hand, friend
Get back up again
Don’t let their words win
It’s time to take a stand

Even when it’s dark outside
You will find that spark within
Hold tight to that little light
And watch miracles happen

By Gretchen Leary 2012

www.gretchenleary.com

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Dedications, Music, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

