Maybe – A Poem & Tribute

Introduction: This was written while listening to Michael Jackson’s “Man in the Mirror”. Although, I feel no tribute could do justice to such a musical genius, this is all I can offer..

My morning reflection
Seemingly a promising
Disappointment
I see myself aging
But not yet changing
At least not for
The better but then
I am constantly wishing
For something

Always wishing that
In a vast world
Filled with people,
Their palms extended-
That, symbolically-
I could offer
Some change

Maybe tomorrow
I can take a step
Closer to that
Unforgiving mirror
And look myself
Right in the eyes
And try not to blink.

Maybe there I will
Find the confidence
To love myself first
To fill up that cup
With hope and love
Worth more than
Any coins that sift
Through torn pockets
Of my worn down
Woolen coat.

Maybe then I might
Find a younger me
A different being that
Metaphorically speaking
Can offer something
Or with a lick of luck
And a quick snap –
Maybe, all of me.

Gretchen Leary 2013

www.gretchenleary.com

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Dedications, Music, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

