Poetic Pulse – A Poem

Introduction: For inspiration, this was written while listening to Lindsey Stirling’s piece called “Spontaneous Me“.

Unspoken verse
Weaving webs
Of silk like stories
My hand, my pen
Aching to dance
To the tempo of
My other heartbeat
Painting the poet
I-can-only-blindly-see
The night lit only
By my silver script
On a starless canvas
For the world to read

Gretchen Leary 2013

www.gretchenleary.com

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Music, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Poetic Pulse – A Poem

  1. And the world is reading Gretchen 🙂

    Cheers,

    Mark Butkus

  2. By my silvery script, on a starry canvas, the world to read…just love that closing…beautiful. 🙂

  3. Mary says:

    Oh, wow, this is beautiful, Gretchen. I was going to comment on the same words that pandamoniumcat commented on before I read what SHE said. Must mean they are especially good. I like ‘my other heartbeat’ as well!

  4. cloudfactor5 says:

    I really this: “Aching to dance
    To the tempo of
    My other heartbeat”
    I am a Lindsey Stirling fan as well, her Hip Hop Violin audition is my favorite and I think I have posted it at least twice on my blog!

  5. kelly says:

    “Painting the poet
    I-can-only-blindly-see”
    love that, love all of this, the poet’s dance. beautiful.

  6. brian miller says:

    smiles…this is lovely…write on that star filled sky…let everyone see it…i like the beginning too made me think of the feeling as a poem is birthing in my head….i start reaching for the pen…or hoping to find one…smiles…

    • I just thought about what her piece said to me. To me it said “Be yourself” even though her piece has no words and I thought “What if I could write a message to the whole world to show who I am? A poem?” I struggled writing this until I let go and just…wrote

  7. I love these lines ~ And sometimes we just have to let our muse go ~

    My hand, my pen
    Aching to dance
    To the tempo of
    My other heartbeat

  8. kaykuala says:

    My hand, my pen
    Aching to dance

    This sums up the yearnings of a poet. One gets all inspired which must be addressed immediately. Otherwise the ideas might just fizzle away! Nicely Gretchen!

    Hank

  9. ayala says:

    Gretchen, this is a beautiful poem !

  10. Such movement in your words, and I can relate to that ache that tugs when the words are wanting out 🙂

  11. Blue Flute says:

    Lovely, delicate poem–woven like fine silk

  12. claudia says:

    nice…Painting the poet
    I-can-only-blindly-see…. a poem develops its own heartbeat in the process…something i like much and great images…silver script on starless canvas…nice..

  13. Poet Laundry says:

    Beautiful. The flow is perfect…love it.

  14. really great flow here Gretchen. Nicely done. Love the ending here, so well stated. thanks:

    The night lit only
    By my silver script
    On a starless canvas
    For the world to read

  15. This possess a lyricism which is reminiscent of music. Well done.

  16. poetrydiary says:

    It’s the idea of your other heartbeat which stands out for me in this (lovely) poem. An image that made me stop and think.

  17. ladynyo says:

    Lovely and inspiring poem, Gretchen.

    Lady Nyo

  18. yelena says:

    ‘The night lit only
    By my silver script
    On a starless canvas..’ – so beautiful…. a very uplifting and moving poem, Gretchen. much enjoyed the visit 🙂

  19. MarinaSofia says:

    Such evocative lines ‘the tempo of my other heartbeat’, the starless canvas, the hand and pen aching to dance… All we can hope for as poets is to leave a small, snail-silver trail.

  20. You’ve captured the soul of a poet here, Gretchen.

  21. rmp says:

    such a dance can be as simple a swaying back and forth or as complex as … well a complicated dance. you dance well with your words.

  22. Pamela says:

    Gorgeous poem, Gretchen. Delicately written.

    Pamela

  23. Beth Winter says:

    Oh, I love that other voice. When I write, I feel guided and that’s what your poem brings to mind. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

