Silver Spooned – A Poem

Like a lost pearl
That jaded girl,
She tumbles
Down, an endless
Braid of faded gold
Soundlessly
Spinning, into
Old, smooth
Cold grooves-
In her over-used
Silver spoon and
Wiserthanthouart hand

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Silver Spooned – A Poem

  1. claudia says:

    ha…the Wiserthanthouart hand…really cool..the braid of dull gold is cool as well..feeling sad for her..def. has a fairy tale feel to it..one of those that you hope desperately for a happy ending..

  2. Dale Favier says:

    Oh, that’s gorgeous! Such a wonderful interweave of rhyme.

  3. joanna says:

    you had me from the first lines. 🙂 what beautiful melancholy!

  4. Hi Gretchen – I really liked the tumbling feel of the words there, like falling down a spiral or a rabbit hole!

  5. Ok…to me this is an anti- fairytale. A jaded girl who ‘has everything’ (the silver spoon) and tumbling down a gold spiral (materialism?)….to me, this says money can’t buy you happiness, or life experience, or protect you. Almost like the subject is an ‘Alice in wonderland’ – a world that isn’t real, and one that will bring you back down to earth with a bump. Really like it Gretchen….you have a cool style and you write without bing too literal (basically, you don’t overdescribe) very nice indeed. You got it, that’s for sure. Hope my interpretation is somewhere along the lines you were writing about! Apologies if not

  6. Enjoyed the pace of the words, like tumbling down to reality ~ Good to see you at OLN ~

    Grace

  7. Mary says:

    Gretchen, you wrote quite a portrait of the ‘jaded girl.’ I like the expression ‘wiserthanthoughart hand.’ She doesn’t sound like anyone I would care to know. Smiles.

  8. brian miller says:

    ha i almost googled whiserthanthouart…ha…i wa like, what language is that…smiles…and it has a bit of repunzel in it…but i think you captured the princess attitude very nicely…smiles…ha

    • heidi says:

      I thought it was German at first! Really clever writing Gretchen.

      • Have I told you that my mother’s name is Heidi? It’s so odd when you comment because its such odd timing with my blog posts recently about my mother not showing interest or showing love and about my disability and here you are- but another Heidi. God works in mysterious ways. 🙂

      • heidi says:

        I really enjoy your poems and your blog. Part of it is because I find your writing sytle approachable and thought provoking, but I also see some of the challenges that my little sweetie will have to face examined in your work. I know that I still feel very guilty that she has the difficulties that she has, even though I have been reassured that there was nothing that I could have done differently. I still have this small hope that one day she’ll wake up and everything that is hard for her will be made easy…and then I feel guilty for that hope. Reading your posts helps put things into perspective for me. I do think that I found your site for a reason. If I can give something back, then that makes me very happy. If the Heidi thing gets too weird for you, let me know. I don’t have a middle name, but I can always use my blog title, it always cracks me up to write it. Hugs! heidi (aka bigger than a lasagna)

      • No the name thing is perfect. Just perfect.

    • Ha! A little mix of Alice and Rapunzel 🙂

  9. Love the last three verse a whole-bunch! Well done.

  10. ayala says:

    A beautiful melancholy, Gretchen.

  11. I really enjoyed this 🙂 From the first word, it just spins right into place. Nicely done!

  12. Talon says:

    Oh, I tumbled down along every line. Gorgeous!!

  13. 1emeraldcity says:

    A small, flawless poetic gem, beautifully executed..:)

  14. Cat Hill says:

    Beautifully honest write, love it.

  15. Laurie Kolp says:

    Excellent, Gretchen.

  16. Tony says:

    Hope she finds Wonderland at the end of that tumble, and not C.S. Lewis’s underworld.

Leave a Reply

