Four Forty-Five – A Poem

Introduction: For inspiration, this was written while listening to “Some Nights” by a band called Fun. and while remembering a time in my life that I am learning to let go of.

Cold steel springs
Dig dig-dig digging
I’m tattooed with ink

& torn cardboard
That keeps slipping
Everything aches

I’ve had enough of
This sleepless place
Screaming sirens

That shameless clock
Dressed in neon green
Tick-tick-ticking – STOP

Set – to – go – off again
Dreading, drifting, waiting
For four forty-five AM

Gretchen Leary 2013

About Gretchen Leary

I am 31 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Four Forty-Five – A Poem

  1. brian miller says:

    oy you put the grit in this with the springs and card board…and 445….oy way too early for me…but you do what you have to at times….

  2. Mary says:

    Well, you really have captured that feeling of sleeplessness in this poem. Sometimes that TICKING is so very loud, isn’t it? And the sirens sure wouldn’t help. 4:45? Whew, you ARE an early riser.

  3. claudia says:

    love the details like the clock, dressed in neon green.. the screaming sirens…and oh my… 4:45 is really early…

  4. Timoteo says:

    Sounds like you need to get a Serta.

  5. Cat Hill says:

    Can really identify with the feeling of dread when a ticking clock emphasises insomnia… great write

  6. ayala says:

    Cool…4:45 even early for me. I am an early riser as well. 🙂

  7. hisfirefly says:

    I know that “sleepless place” far too well – well said

  8. dragyonfly says:

    Hi Gretchen, this piece seems very intense…and mysteriously familiar in the dread and the watching of the clock….so focused on the green neon.and the environment in which one tries to rest. builds up tension and the need to know more. Thanks!

  9. ManicDdaily says:

    I would dread it too if that were my hour (or when it is!) Good poem. k.

  10. nico says:

    Very well done–sounds like torture! Glad you survived to write about it!

  11. I listen to ‘Some Nights’ for inspiration too! How cool. Gretchen, this is a very intense piece, I have felt it also. It is amazing to think back on incidents and just wonder how we got through. Very descriptive and honest piece. 🙂

  12. kelly says:

    This has such a fabulous visceral feel to it…. I could feel your dread. Well done!

  13. Pamela says:

    4:45??? Not on this earth, heavens to betsy| I am filled with anxiety just thinking about that, Gretchen. Which means you conveyed this well, to me.

    Pamela

  14. Beth Winter says:

    Oh, for years, my alarm went off at 3 am six days a week. When I changed jobs, I gave that clock away. No alarm should exist at those ungodly hours. Excellent.

Leave a Reply

