Mockingbird – A Poem

Throwing RED thoughts
of mockingbird verse
Small scripted splashes
of practiced, pretty words
There are still moments,
When my voice falls frozen
Stumbling, jumbled
Mere mutterings
Scribbled little theories
of cold, crumpled BLUE
Sometimes loud letters
stuttered in primary colors
Smeared non-sequiturs &
Dis-jointed juvenile scraps of
alphabetical YELLOW chaos,
What more can I offer at
times when my lips have
rendered me speechless-
other than silence?

Gretchen Leary 2013

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in ASD, Aspergers, Autism, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Mockingbird – A Poem

  1. Gretchen, thanks so much for commenting on my Puerto Rico poem. You know, my daughter is an Aspie, too. When words fail her, she turns to the canvas and shouts in oils. Your writing is so intense – words like “stumble,” “stutter,” “smear,” the alliteration and the weight of those words is beautiful. There is so much beauty in the Asperger’s end of the spectrum, because that’s where the dreamers are (along with the bipolars, like me, who often say too MUCH and live to regret it!). God help us if we lose our “othermindedness.” You are gifted. Love, Amy

  2. brian miller says:

    smiles…nice…one of the favorite kids i counseled was an aspie…it was hard for his mom to understand and we had to change up a lot of things in how she approached him…setting that aside, i think there are times that we all feel like this…the creatives…we get snippets, not whole thoughts..and sometimes the silence is not so bad either….

  3. I found this poem (I found you through d-Verse) touching and moving — and as Brian said — the snippets we ‘creatives’ experience make it hard sometimes to be in this world without resorting to silence to make sense of the chaos.

    Love this …
    What more can I offer at
    Times when my lips have
    Rendered me speechless-
    Other than silence?

  4. Laurie Kolp says:

    Lovely word choices. I especially like the “j”s throughout.

  5. Mary says:

    Gretchen, I think the colors served you well in this poem. Interesting, I think, how certain colors evoke different moods and represent different kinds of writing!

  6. yp25 says:

    Ooh, ooh! Another good one! – A Free Verse

  7. I really enjoyed your poem! “Chaos” seems to be our bond. Very well done! 🙂

    • Thank-you. My disability is an invisible one. Thank-goodness for writing as the spoken word betrays me more often than I’d even care to mention. Just put up my newest poem a moment ago.

      We are bound by chaos! 🙂

  8. zongrik says:

    i like scribbled little theories of cold.(was it measured in Kelvin?)

  9. claudia says:

    offering silence sometimes may not be bad at all in our loud, loud world…really like how you worked the colors in..

  10. love the rhythmic flow to the read Gretchen. Great use of color symbolism here as well. Excellent piece. Thanks

  11. nico says:

    Mockingbird verse? You have your own poetic voice, clear and powerful, and I always enjoy your work.

Leave a Reply

