To Stand – A Poetic Dedication to @JoshGroban

Introduction: This was written while listening to Josh Groban’s new song “Brave” What an incredible song. If you haven’t heard it yet- go listen now. You surely won’t regret it.

I am dedicating this poem to Josh Groban who inspired me beyond words when he shared my “Ivory at Midnight” poem last May on Twitter. It inspired me to keep writing and to never give up.

I knelt to rest
Sweating salt
Hands pressed to
Smoking asphalt

Every breath is
Dense & heavy
Every Muscle
Stiff, unsteady

Pulse racing
& gritted teeth
Slowly, bracing-
Weakened knees

How did I forget-
so easily-
To reach out for
His hand?
But I look up now
Beyond the clouds
To find my strength to stand

Gretchen Leary 2013

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Dedications, Music, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to To Stand – A Poetic Dedication to @JoshGroban

  1. Brilliant first two lines Gretchen, followed by well-paced stanzas.

  2. Mary says:

    Beautiful, Gretchen. Like you, I am so often inspired by music or the lyrics of songs. I too very much like Josh Groban’s music. I am glad that he was responsible for keeping you writing.Finding our strength somewhere truly is what it is all about!

  3. Poet Laundry says:

    Your words really brought me into the emotion of this moment. Great descriptive piece.

  4. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    Neat! 🙂

  5. Sabio Lantz says:

    I found Josh’s song — thanx, I’d never heard of him. Very dramatic stuff. And your poem has the same transcendent tone.

  6. aprille says:

    You really have a gift.
    However long or short you poems, they always have something special.

  7. Kim Nelson says:

    Your words, Gretchen, are even mor powerful than Mr. Groban’s.

  8. Susan says:

    The internal/eternal drama is well played here. I too remember over and over like falling in love again and again. If I remembered constantly, would I miss the drama and the passion?

  9. Jack says:

    The middle two verses really capture the…still sort of struggle people face.

  10. Pingback: To Stand – A Poetic Dedication to @JoshGroban | radebigman

  11. So lovely Gretchen!!

Leave a Reply

