Inked – A Poem

20130221-225206.jpg

For dVersePoet’s – Graffiti Prompt

For added inspiration, I wrote this while listening to “Too Bad” by Nickelback.

Thin wax paper
Pressed against
My bare shoulder –
Long hair swept
Over the other
My breath catches
Sucking in – as
Ink breaks skin

Biting my lower lip,
Quick, whispering
Words through
Gritted teeth as
You lean into me
I look back to
Watch you
Etching verse
Only skin deep
Sinking in at
The steep price
Of permanent ink

Gretchen Leary 2013

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Music, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Inked – A Poem

  1. claudia says:

    nice…love that you went tattoo…getting these words inked into our skin has a price as well and can be painful.. even though it’s only skin deep…finds the way to the heart as well… really like it as a metaphor as well

    • Thank-you! It was my third tattoo (in the picture) my second one actually hurt much worse (lower back – black superman emblem which has been the hallmark of some seriously funny stories lol)

  2. Oh, this works so well here–tattoo as graffiti. You are a living wall.

  3. kkkkaty1 says:

    unique perspective here…ouch!

    • Yup ouch. The ouch level rises depending on where it’s done. The one on my lower back hurt the worst. I have a butterfly on one shoulder, “Little Pearl” on the other and a black superman emblem on my lower back

  4. Zouxzoux says:

    I’ve never read someone’s thoughts as they get tatooed. Thanks for sharing your unique voice and experience. And thanks for your sweet words on my last post. xo

  5. Grace says:

    I like the etching verse on the skin…I don’t have a tattoo so this was interesting to read ~

  6. brian miller says:

    nice…def another art in the line of graffiti…i want one…smiles. a black superman emblem? wondering the symbolism…or if comic books are just your thing…sorry i am geek totally…lol

  7. This is lovely Gretchen;
    I love the way you spun the theme of graffiti on walls to skin keeping the canvas close and personal.
    Well done!

  8. Love the idea of this for indeed a tattoo is body graffiti – thoughts in indelible ink…

    Anna :o]

  9. ManicDdaily says:

    Yikes. Well done poem! I wouldn’t want the experience though. k.

  10. Body graffiti, it etches its message within our largest sense organ. At once both surface and depth, a wonderful paradox. Thanks so much for joining us.

  11. Tony says:

    Great write, Gretchen, and such an original take on the prompt. Having no tattoos myself, I couldn’t have written this.

  12. Renee Espriu says:

    Nice write Gretchen. I have tattoos as well but didn’t think of writing something in connection. Great idea.

  13. It never occurred to me to correlate graffiti and tattoos, until now. You have given me much about which to think. Well done, Gretchen.

    http://www.kimnelsonwrites.com/2013/02/22/it-is-written-vehicles-of-the-word/

Leave a Reply

