Lost Stars – A Poem

Introduction: For inspiration, this was written while listening to Lindsey Stirling’s piece called “Elements”.

The image I had stuck in my mind is this swanlike figure-skater skating on a lake at night.

Illuminated white
A figure at night
Carving lost stars
Into shattered ice

In endless eights
Her blades spin-
Faster- as she
Pulls her body in
Mapping the “X”
Of constellations

Gretchen Leary 2013

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Music, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Lost Stars – A Poem

    • Thank-you. For some reason, all I could see in my mind when I heard this piece tonight was a figure skater in white at night carving out a sky onto a frozen lake. 🙂

      Lindsey’s music video for her “Elements” piece, is absolutely breath taking for this song. Very inspiring. Her music never fails to get my muse ready to write. Gotta love the electric violin 🙂

  1. Kelvin S.M. says:

    “Carving lost stars..Into shattered ice” — just loved that… though quite sad to read… smiles…

  2. ladynyo says:

    Gretchen! This is lovely…the simplicity of it….your exactitude in words goes straight to the imagery with no stumbling or detour. How refreshing it is to read a poem like this!

    Brava! The imagery came through immediately and just carried me through. The resolve of those last few lines will stay in my head for a while.
    You do something very important here, Gretchen.. Your simplicity of ‘song’ is powerful.

    Yes, music is a great generator of poetry. I listened to “Winter into Spring” a year ago??? and wrote one of my best poems. I think music stirs the soul and that reaches up into where ever poetry is made.

    Just delightful!

    Lady Nyo

  3. brian miller says:

    dang…really nice…tight little verse….the second stanza in particular for me…alot going on and spinning quick…pulling th ebody in and mapping the X of constellations…cool verse…

  4. kthorpe says:

    I have to say you have a talent? skill? genius? for painting a vivid image with only a few words. Which is awesome.

    • Thank-you! If I write my poetry very quickly it comes out better – the less I mess with it – the more simple it seems to come out and if I want to expound on the subject I write a separate blog post on it (under Autism)

Leave a Reply

