Pretty Little Let Downs – A Poem

20130512-194827.jpg

Linked up to dVersepoets: Poetics

Throw out those hollow words
Like deep echoes with no sound
Sincerity like tongue-in-cheek
Replaced by verse, unfollowed
In your pretty little let downs

Gretchen Leary 2013

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Pretty Little Let Downs – A Poem

  1. brian miller says:

    very lyrical for a short verse….sounds like a chorus line to a song actually…deep echoes with no sound…nice contrast….like the title and that last line….smiles…we are doing micro poetry tomorrow for poetics too…12 lines or less…so….

  2. No substance, no backing up what they say. Unreliable. Promise-breakers. I see all that in this sharp little poem. *grin*

  3. So many great truths packed into this poem. You know, many times that is what causes me the greatest social confusion, the “pretty little let downs” they make me question and doubt myself. Excellent poem in so many ways! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. claudia says:

    oh heck…that stings.. the let downs…hollow words…i much like the image of echoes with no sounds…so what’s left then… ugh

  5. hollow words, echoes with no sound, pretty little let downs. Very nice, love those. Nicely done Gretchen. Thanks

  6. aprille says:

    I was hoping for that cold shoulder shortie you wrote the other day. That stuck in my memory.
    This is another in the same vein. Well done.

  7. The first line of hollow words hooked me right away…Good one Gretchen ~

  8. very strong voice in this poem – loved the ‘pretty little let downs’. K

  9. Laurie Kolp says:

    deep echoes with no sounds… I really like that, Gretchen

  10. Mary says:

    Hollow words and let-downs are definitely hard to deal with. In short (pun intended), a strong poem!

  11. janehewey says:

    so familiar. love LOVE your middle line
    Sincerity like tongue-in-cheek
    A clever take and stout poem!

  12. Oh gosh, this is so true…hollow words, just deep echoes and pretty let downs… happens often and always leaves you wondering why?

  13. Rene says:

    Yes!
    Do I ever hate being dismissed in lace!

  14. Very clever poetry. And yes in some cases shorter is better. Your poem is the direct opposite to what it talks about. I really like it.

  15. Tony says:

    Have I told you how much I enjoy your poetry, Gretchen? I haven’t!!! Well, I’m telling you now. Yet another wonderful piece from your pen/keyboard.

    • Thank-you so much Tony. I looked up William Carlos Williams as I regrettably didn’t recognize his name. That may have been one of the biggest compliments I’ve ever received!

  16. hypercryptical says:

    Strong stuff here Gretchen – so much said.
    Anna :o]

  17. Man, everyone is laying down some licks today, That pretty little let downs needs to be a verse of song someday. Clever. You had me dancing some.

  18. vb holmes says:

    A lot said in those five lines–great piece.

  19. gardenlilie says:

    So the poem is grabbing n the last two lines have a hold on me. I don’t like them, in that please explain them, they are daunting. Gretchen … More!

    • To me those last two lines just mean that sometimes people are fake and I don’t understand their “small talk” to get around it or their polite way of saying “Id rather not be talking to you” but they act all nice and fake…that’s all. I don’t want my words to haunt you ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Or do you mean that you want the poem to be longer? Lol

  20. Kelvin S.M. says:

    …i can sing to it all day Gretchen… musicality is your best quality in poetry… excellent… smiles…

    • Wow, thank-you! I was listen to David Guetta’s “Titanium” over and over and over when I was writing this. This one tiny poem actually took three days to complete. I couldn’t think of how to place the lines together. Finally the middle line came to me and I found the rhythm I needed ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. ManicDdaily says:

    I could really feel the reverberations of deep echoes with no spund. Well done. k.

  22. Great poem, very lyrical. I love the flow of the piece. I’m especially fond of the “deep echoes with no sound” line.

  23. Ursa Bowers says:

    I can really relate to the sentiment here. I have some friends who I feel let down by– we spend a lot of enjoyable times together, but they never seem to want to share anything sincere with me. It’s a lonely feeling, and I don’t understand why some people don’t feel the need to form deep connections with their friends– in my opinion, sharing yourself with others is the most important, meaningful thing we can do in this life.

    Guess that’s why we’re poets, haha! Thanks for the read; I really enjoyed it.

    • Thank-you Ursa! I wish people would be more sincere and compassionate but it seems a lot of the world has put up four walls around their heart – because they were either 1) taught to act like this or 2) have been hurt in the past. One of the hardest things for a human heart to do is – let go it seems.

  24. MarinaSofia says:

    Pretty little letdowns – excellent turn of phrase. Like ‘damning with faint praise’. It feels like a piece about social media to me…

  25. SallyJ says:

    great last line. Every line works but that last one is the killer.

  26. Sabio Lantz says:

    Fantastic capture! You may enjoy this quote:
    “By and large, language is a tool for concealing the truth.”
    –George Carlin (comedian)

  27. kkkkaty says:

    Loved this, Gretchen, and I understand!

  28. heidi says:

    Gretchen, you are brilliant in your ablility to say so much in so few words.

Leave a Reply

