Betwixt – A Poem

Tonight
We’ll try
To touch –
To brush
Our cold
Blue light
Betwixt –
This ice-like
Black night’s
Fingertips
To spark a
Deeper sigh

Gretchen Leary 2013

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Betwixt – A Poem

  1. This is lovely Gretchen. “This ice-like Black night’s Fingertips”. Very nicely written πŸ™‚

  2. PassionPoet says:

    Very few poems make me drop my jaw in awe. This was one of them. POWERFULLY AWESOME… I’m in LOVE…. *exclamations of amazed expletives frantically censored by WordPress Censorship Board* WOW.. .I am following you IMMEDIATELY.

  3. gardenlilie says:

    This is something, like the betwixt word, it has thrown me. Is it rekindle? Is it between? Is it magic spells? Each of your posts are quite unique. You have diversity!

  4. The poem sparks a deeper sigh.

  5. claudia says:

    ice-like
    Black night’s…love the sounds and the mood you create with it.. betwixt is a cool word as well..never heard it before.. and sparking a deeper sigh is such a warm contrast to the ice-like..you put a lot of emotions into just few lines..very cool

  6. brian miller says:

    mmm…there is a beautiful. though rather subtle intimacy in this…and i love the word betwixt…ha…sounds like a rather enjoyable night to me…smiles.

  7. I like, especially the short gasping, reaching breaths of each line leading exhaling to the next. Great pace. Excellente. Great image: sparking a deeper sigh.

  8. kelly says:

    Betwixt is such a fabulous word, I love what you did with it here, so much emotion and imagery packed into these lines!

  9. Grace says:

    I like the idea of touch, of interconnections ~ Lovely share Gretchen ~

  10. Very nice, trying to reach a deeper sigh!

  11. kkkkaty says:

    Where did that come from, Gretchen….he he?! So good.

  12. Pamela says:

    Well paced poem, Gretchen, it reads beautifully.

    Pamela

  13. Rowan Taw says:

    “Betwixt” what a great word and a great poem.

  14. hypercryptical says:

    Lovely – beautiful words enough to sigh at.

    Anna :o]

  15. Tony Maude says:

    Subtle sensuality in this Gretchen – I like it a lot πŸ™‚ Thanks for your comment on my piece this OLN too; although I didn’t have you in mind when I wrote it, I knew that you’d bring a different level of understanding to it and was hoping that you’d visit my humble corner of the blogosphere.

  16. in the night…beautiful. thank you

Leave a Reply

