Four Corners – A Poem

Introduction: This was written for dVersePoets‘ Poetics which I am proudly co-hosting today with the amazing Brian Miller. Join us this afternoon when the pub doors open. There are two prompts today!

For my nostalgic musical inspiration, this was written while listening to “You’ll Be In My Heart” by Phil Collins.

Swaddled in
Soft White &
Satin Corners

That tattered
Blanket gathered
Dust as it was
Dragged here
There…
Everywhere

Secretly –
Scissors
Taught
Me a life
Long lesson
Just a bad
Habit –
She said
Needing to
Be broken
& Then
folded, neatly
In the Attic

Decades pass
As dust gathers
And then it
Happened-
I found it
Again
Kneeling –
I sat down
Cross-legged
Older but not
Much wiser
Hands
Reaching out
Instinctively
For what is
No longer there,
Tracing four
Torn corners

I sat silently staring
Out the old window
At the falling snow-
Oblivious to the cold
& wrapped in a memory

Gretchen Leary 2013

I found that blanket recently. My grandmother was shocked when I asked if I could take it home. Did I need a blanket she asked? She offered several as I shook my head. I just needed that blanket, satin corners or not. Just the right size to keep my lap warm I said but I think she finally got the idea even though she just laughed and shook her head.

20130309-020823.jpg

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Music, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Four Corners – A Poem

  1. Debbie says:

    I loved this, Gretchen. Our youngest daughter still sleeps with old pairs of my pajamas as her pillow case. We always called them her “jams” and she would take them in the car with her, needed them to sleep, etc. So glad you have that blanket back!

  2. Pingback: Four Corners – A Poem | robtisit

  3. Kelvin S.M. says:

    …reminiscing the days of yore thru the objects that weigh more than just it was from the time of its abandonment to, now, again in a heart warming communion…. liked the ‘scissors taught me a life
    long lesson’… and the finale stanza is quite too sad for me…

    …weird, when i get the poetics today i initially thought of something like this… a object of connectivity… something picked from a visit to the garret… something about aging and reminiscing… ha… and nice to have you hosting Gretchen… see you later at the pub… smiles…

  4. brian miller says:

    smiles…really like this gretchen…the blanket…each of my boys had one…still have one….and i had a teddy that was my sense of security growing up….and then a tshirt….i still have the tshirt and all i need to do is touch it…it is so soft…..interesting on the scissors teaching you a lesson….i am glad you still have that blanket…

    phil collins was one of the first CDs i ever got when they first came out as well…think i still have an old genesis cd around…

    see you in a bit! woot! smiles.

  5. This is lovely Gretchen. Some things will always be special no matter how old we are. Nicely done! πŸ™‚

  6. Mary says:

    Gretchen, this is very touching! I understand the sentiment. I have a little yarn rabbit (Pinkie) and a little stuffed dog (Poochie) from my toddler-hood; and they are true treasures in my life! I am glad you found and brought your blanket home!!

  7. Imelda says:

    This is beautifully written, Gretchen. It reminded me of a 3 year old girl I once knew who brought her security blanket everywhere. In the Church, I would see the blanket being dragged on the floor to the pew. She would be gnawing on a corner to amuse herself. One night, when I was in their house, I saw how she cried and could not sleep because her blanket was missing. She must be in her teens now. I wonder if she will feel the same as you years from now. πŸ™‚

  8. kthorpe says:

    So sweet and beautifully evocative (One of my favorite poem descriptors!). This poem seems to really take us where you were, both physically and in feeling.

  9. Misky says:

    I love this poem, and I think everyone should be so lucky as to salvage bits of their childhood for adulthood.

  10. claudia says:

    made me smile…my son had a penguin and loved him dearly…carried him around, slept with him in his arms and my son’s 20 now..but believe it or not…that penguin is still around…smiles
    phil collins is way cool as well…my fav by him is in the air tonight…

  11. Ruth says:

    beautiful, Gretchen… I think we all long at times for that almost-forgotten security blanket, bear, or whatever it was that gave us much-needed comfort in our childhood – and a favourite song is just the way to bring it back

  12. Yes–My daughter still has her “Rosie.” Can’t sleep without that dog, although she has seen better days.

  13. tashtoo says:

    Both are fantastic…but as one who has her own blankie…the second speaks to my soul πŸ˜‰ (And that’s the most confessing you’ll get from me today!)

    • Haha you are two of a kind in a lot of ways. My cat Atticus climbed onto the blanket when I was trying to take the picture of it. So we wrapped him in it and put him in a little laundry basket at bedtime. He might like it more than me. He’s a big baby. (Loves being swaddled which I have never known a cat to like)

  14. Pamela says:

    Gretchen, how we cherish the old memories, which you have so beautifully put here. Lovely poem.
    I have an old sweater of my mom’s which I use on chilly nights, and it always makes me feel like she is touching me.
    Pamela

    • Touch (even if its not a person) by something soft or has meaning can be so soothing so both together is best to me. I love my silver Tiffany’s heart pendant as well. Smooth surface. πŸ™‚

  15. Glenn Buttkus says:

    I listened to Brubeck’s TAKE FIVE, staring at the word list provided by my wife, and a diatribe history lesson emerged cayenne hot. Your piece bring back all things nostalgic; for me that is mostly snapshots from crumbling family albums; have always been very visual as well as tactual. Too damned old now to still have something from almost 70 years ago, just fervent memories.

  16. Gretchen, this is so lovely and at one point my chest ached. What a way to capture that memory. Nice!

  17. aprille says:

    My security blanket has a similar origin and is ancient, filled with the down from the eider duck from somewhere in Austria, and has traveled the world with several generations. Priceless and precious now and oh so warm to have on your knees when watching telly in winter.
    Sorry, couldn’t do the music prompt for you: songs don’t seem to play a part in my life. A failing, I’m sure.

  18. Very nice, nothing’s quite like old memories. I will use your prompt 4 open links nights. Needs more time. πŸ™‚

    • Thank-you and I look forward to reading your poem on Tuesday as well. Tonight you certain brought some heavy words to the table but made them light. Awesome job πŸ™‚

  19. I think we all have things from our past that gives us comfort. Excellente poem and song choice. Great combo and superb job hosting.

  20. heidi says:

    Lovely as always, Gretchen. I never understood the need to take security items away from children. My sweetie-pie still has a pappy that she uses in times of stress and complete strangers will try to shame her about it. (Im not above shaming them back.) This poem touched home for me. Awesome hosting today, I have an idea, but its kind of obvious, so I am waiting to see if something else pops up.

  21. Such a poignant memory-poem, Gretchen. Beautiful!

  22. Until now, my teen daughter keeps her old & much shorter blanket ~ Like the warm memories of this childhood security blanket ~ Great job on hosting tonight ~

  23. Rowan Taw says:

    This so beautiful, and very sweet – I’d give anything to have fine back (mine had tassels that I liked to suck)

  24. “wrapped in a memory” – love that, the physical and emotional contained in one item. Nothing like an old friend to stir up memories.

  25. Gretchen;

    This poem is like a blanket for the soul. Just like how you describe music building up the prompt tonight we are all swaddled in your memory. Cheers!

  26. It’s amazing how much memories objects can hold. I still remember and wish I had some trinkets of my grandparents’ from my childhood. Great poem – and prompt today!

  27. marousia says:

    Gorgeous poem – objects do hold memories – this reminded me of a children’s book – The Velveteen Rabbit where the toy rabbit came to life because he was loved so much by a child πŸ™‚

  28. Wyeth Bailey says:

    I’m not a Phil Collings fan, so I’ll thank you for not adding “sususudio” (?!) to your secretly-scissors alliteration. πŸ˜‰ (teasing)

    I found this very evocative of both time and place. The abstraction was just enough to satisfy the resolution (oh, a blanket) without being deliberately obscure.

    I’m curious about the capitalization scheme. Purposefully, uhm, odd. It distracted me a bit but it slowed me down, kind of broke the fluidity, and I wonder if that ‘s intentional?

    I like the poem alot. I’m going to go read it a few more times. Thank you for sharing it with us.

  29. wrapped in a memory…
    …love those words…delicate writing…it definitely lingers long after its read.

  30. ND Mitchell says:

    So beautifully written Gretchen. I’m sure everyone has something equivalent to your blanket. I like a bit of Phil Collins too so doubly good!

  31. David King says:

    Well I understand, so I am sure that she did. The poem too has satin stretches.

  32. Sabio Lantz says:

    The blanket is still there with its memories and feelings. But the comfort and the magic are gone. New methods must be found for your present no-wiser-self. Nicely penned.

  33. Laurie Kolp says:

    Blankets warm the heart as much as our bodies. You did great with the prompt, although I chose Brian’s.

  34. ninotaziz says:

    Dear Gretchen
    This brings to mind a time, of childhood, of first memories, fears and securities. They hold on to us, and almost never let us go.

    Lovely, thank you for sharing Gretchen…

  35. kkkkaty says:

    I think it’s good to get those old memories on paper (pc) for now you have even more to recollect …your blanket and how it wrapped you in security…and your poetry to show how much more grown up you are..

  36. Thanks for your great prompt which put me right back in a dreamy moment. How fabulous to find your blanket after all these years and your feelings of it make the taking away so abruptly seem cruel. Why not let a child keep whatever brings her comfort or pleasure?

  37. Tony says:

    My wife and I both still have our childhood bears. Mine is a bit threadbare, and he only comes out occasionally; my wife’s is on his third skin and is probably her most treasured possession. If we ever had a fire in our house, she’d probably rescue her bear before she thought about whether or not I was safe πŸ™‚

  38. Childhood things are so precious,I still have the one my grandma made for me. Enjoyed your poetry. Thank you for the prompt too.

  39. Very touching, some precious things I think hold pieces of us…and blankets, always comforting when we need them most…sounds strange but it’s true I think.. A lovely poem

  40. clawfish says:

    I loved this made me think of my teddy whose paws i sucked till the straw fell out thank you for your memory and mine

  41. Phil Collins and a memory such as this. Wonderful bit of worded wonder, Gretchen.

  42. Renee Espriu says:

    Love this Gretchen and so sorry I missed posting but have posted something anyway given your prompt and referred people back to dVerse. I know the link has expired but was other focused the last couple of weeks. Hopefully I will be able to get back to it now.

  43. Pingback: We Didn’t Start the Fire… | findingtimetowrite

  44. fotohack says:

    Thanks for following me your rhymes are quite beautiful…..

Leave a Reply

