Words Served, Sunny Side Up – A Poem

Written For B.

Marbles sparkle like
Prisms in small jars
In the kitchen window
Simple sunny side
Charred black
edged –
Eggs sizzle &
Smile at me in
The pan, Frustrated
I don’t want to play
With food, I scramble
The eyes and my
Pen raps at
a Naked page,
I notice my neighbor’s
Embarrassing smile
As I pull my robe
Closed to wave,
And brush a curl
Back into my messier
Than messy bun
Focused much
Less on food,
But Hungry for
Pretty adjectives,
To dangle down
Like puppet strings
Dipped in rainbow ink
Onto my pages,
Spelling out a rather
Contagious intelligence
While I humbly sit
Down and miss the stool
It’s Sunday again
So striving to make
A poetic statement
I huff and puff
And internalize
My pride and
Eat my Cold,
Scrambled verbs

Words given:

Nouns: string and marble
Verbs: internalize, strive, play
Adjectives: simple, contagious, small
Random: Window, Hungry

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Words Served, Sunny Side Up – A Poem

  1. kthorpe says:

    Awesome! Just when you had me in serious mode you wrote, “miss the stool.” Love it πŸ™‚

  2. claudia says:

    ha..love me some scrambled verbs…i prefer them still warm though and i think yours just have the right temperature…love the imagery here…the adjectives dangling down like puppet strings..dipped in rainbow ink…fantastic…looking forward to the prompt later and so cool to have you co-hosting…

  3. gardenlilie says:

    This is so good. I’m ready to have fluffy eggs with you but their charred. I think I’ve fallen right into your kitchen; this is super as I really enjoyed the read! Congrats on cohosting. I’m boarding a plane so may have to check it out tomorrow.

  4. I enjoyed the play of words…scrambling for eggs, nouns and food in a kitchen sounds good to me ~ Looking forward to your co-hosting Poetics ~

    Have a lovely weekend ~

    Grace

  5. Fun. Some really cute imagery (the robe and neighbor). I enjoyed the poem.

  6. brian miller says:

    Pretty adjectives,
    To dangle down
    Like puppet strings…haha i like…and contageous intteligence…and cold scrambled verbs…haha…hope you did not go all the way down in missing the stool either…ha….cool write gretchen….smiles.

  7. Love your playful way with metaphors here Gretchen. πŸ™‚

  8. You did the MadLib prompt of Brian’s! This had a whimsical, in-the-moment feel. Love your mix of breakfast and your REAL “daily bread” – poetry. Such a talent, I love reading your work. Amy

Leave a Reply

