Small Talk – A Poem

New-old strangers side by side
Recanting their yesterday
Reciting weathered words like
An un-tethered calloused verse
In the dullest shade of gray

Gretchen Leary 2013

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in ASD, Aspergers, Autism, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Small Talk – A Poem

  1. Gretchen this was not a gray verse but a very vivid visual in soft words~ beautiful !

  2. interesting rhyme to this gretchen…ties it together well…hmm, perhaps in the uncomfort in not knowing what to say having those stand by well worn words is not so bad you know…even if they feel a bit drab….small talk is not easy for many people…all depends on who i am with…and if they have a pulse…smiles.

  3. Love this, and sometimes I feel the same way.

  4. Rowan Taw says:

    Sounds like you speak for them, or perhaps they’d be even more lost for words at your observant rhyme?

  5. claudia says:

    small talk can be a beast… i sometimes find it difficult and sometimes very easy, depends on my mood a bit and on the people i’m with of course.. probably it’s hardest with people you know well…new old strangers.. there should be a point when it doesn’t need small talk any more..?

  6. Gretchen, there is a wisdom and even courage in avoiding small talk. When people ask me how I am, I counter with, “Do you really want to know? Otherwise, I’m fine.” So folks who want to engage truly (and often, they do) are given that invitation.

    This poem, the grey of moods and weather and all, the perfect poem to describe the moods of those with SAD, as well as a nice “moment” poem. Love, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2013/03/13/snow-bizness/

  7. Penny says:

    I have never been able to do small talk and your poem perfectly describes my own discomfort. I love the idea of ‘weathered’ words. Penny x

  8. Tony says:

    I’m not a big fan of small talk – although there are some truly trivial things I can talk about for hours. I liked new old strangers – it’s a really strong image.

    And you have written a cinquain. I counted the lines – there are 5, so that is definitely a cinquain πŸ™‚

  9. Like the new-old strangers talking about the weather(ed) words ~ Smiles ~

  10. Bodhirose says:

    I love your perfectly described version of small talk. Small talk is one (among many) skill that I have never managed very well. Sometimes I can..sometimes no…depends on the other person and whether they’re open and on my same “wave-length” so to speak.

Leave a Reply

