Envy – A Poem

For dVersePoets: Poetics

Envy tastes like
Bitter paste
Spite gRiNdiNg
Behind tight
Clenched –
White teeth &
Green eyes
Take – your – finger – tip
From – my – lower – lip

For when you lie,
I bite.

Gretchen Leary 2013

This is for DversePoets where we are writing about all things green. I couldn’t think of anything other than nausea and envy and although neither of those are signs of good health, jealousy was less graphic to write about.

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in dVersePoets Prompt, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Envy – A Poem

  1. claudia says:

    ha…envy has a bitter taste for sure…and lies are even worse.. so a well placed bite may be not such a bad move..ha.. tightly put gretchen

  2. JodetteP says:

    This poem depicts envy spot on! Great job Gretchen 🙂
    Ironically, I wrote a poem similar to this topic would you like to take a look?
    http://oursunshines.wordpress.com/2013/03/15/aching-heart/

    Thanks!

  3. Penny says:

    Brilliant depiction of envy and I love the power of the threat at the end. Penny

  4. brian miller says:

    when you lie, i bite….whew! nice intensity in this gretchen…yikes…jealousy and envy can def be dangerous roots to let grip your heart…and make you do things you never thought you would…nice lowercaseCAPS work as well…ha….gets a bit of the craziness in it…

  5. Oh this one is intense. Capitalizing some of the letters in the word grinding–created a grinding feeling that carried through the whole poem. Really good.

  6. Grace says:

    Yikes on the bite and lies ~ I like the taste of bitter paste ~

  7. ManicDdaily says:

    Ooh, very intense and vivid and personal. Short lines work especially well. Thanks, Gretchen. k.

  8. janehewey says:

    owwwie!! this is fantastic!!

  9. Being green with envy can cause such pain. Tight write with a bite!

  10. Mary says:

    I enjoyed this, Gretchen.
    Yup, envy is green.
    I try not to indulge in envy…figure some are better off than I am, and I am better off than some. It is all along the continuum, I think. I just try to make the most of my own life.

  11. I have the bitterness on my tongue. So many great lines and the bite… ouch. Amazing work!

  12. Gretchen – few words but what intensity! really outstanding K

  13. One certainly does need to write an opus to convey a poetic message; nice job with this verdant dusky jewel, Gretchen. Your tone matches Karin’s tonight. I stuck dab on into Ireland for my effort. Odd that one country has sent us so many immigrants who became cops, priests, and politicians that we celebrate their saint; another excuse to party green I suppose.

  14. Kelvin S.M. says:

    …i’m pretty sure i left a comment earlier here but it wasn’t here, it looked… anyhow, just so you know i like this a lot and your last 2 lines are strong enough to hit a chord… quite a reality that’s irrevocable i guess… great one.. smiles..

  15. kkkkaty says:

    We’ve all felt this strong emotion…some have taken it too far..I find this playful and yet biting;)

  16. gardenlilie says:

    This is an excellent poem, precise!

  17. Renee Espriu says:

    Well done on the prompt for dVerse, Gretchen.

  18. Wyeth Bailey says:

    Oh, I love this. It’s a swift, clean knife wound. Such a perfect moment in time.

  19. Akila says:

    very well put! when you lie…I bite….loved tat line!

Leave a Reply

