Sweet Dreams – A Poem

Sweet nostalgia
cradles me / in
moonlit blankets
of memories

As dreams call
out to me again
like the oldest
of closest friends

I press my cheek
To your heartbeat
& sweet nostalgia
cradles me

Gretchen Leary 2013

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Sweet Dreams – A Poem

  1. usevalue says:

    You romantic.

  2. PassionPoet says:

    Where is the “OMGTHISISFREAKINGAWESOMEILOVEITOOOOOOO!” button? “Like” doesn’t cut it!

    “I press my cheek
    To your heartbeat
    & sweet nostalgia
    cradles me”

    That ending! LOVE IT!

  3. Haunting but awesome lyrics ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. joanna says:

    this is haunting in the way it comes full circle, but with a more physical feeling… tightly written and oh-so-beautiful.

  5. gardenlilie says:

    Memories are sweet, yes nostalgic. But living, that’s the adventure, the breathtaking moments written in our memories. I love your writing Gretchen, excellent! Keep it up ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. L says:

    Love the touching/action in this.

  7. Looks like we have commonality again in our pieces. This time regarding moonlight. I really enjoyed this piece and wouldn’t mind some sweet nostalgia myself! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. janehewey says:

    I am cradled here, Gretchen. thank you : ) moonlit blankets, closest friends. ahhh

  9. brian miller says:

    love that pressing of cheek to heartbeat gretchen…the intimacy in that…it plays well on the wrapping yourself in the warmth of nostalgia….i feel the hug a bit in this…smiles.

  10. Martin Shone says:

    Wonderful… moonlit blankets of memories!

  11. Misky says:

    That pressing cheek to a heartbeat sure made my imagination perk up! Lovely write.

  12. That last stanza did it for me, a perfect example of a beloved memory. Wow!

  13. I adore a bit of nostalgia, and I adore your words Gretchen. That opening stanza is particularly lovely ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. ayala says:

    I love the nostalgia in this, sweet and beautiful !

  15. Mary says:

    I like this, Gretchen. Dreams definitely are among our oldest and closest friends. We definitely have to acknowledge them & appreciate them……and be cradled by them too.

  16. Sweet. Clearly written. Very concise. A romantic feel. Very nice!

  17. Laurie Kolp says:

    Simply lovely, Gretchen.

  18. kkkkaty1 says:

    …like so many moments I’ve spend with my pillow….uncanny and so sweet;)

  19. Beth Winter says:

    what a gorgeous cuddle, such a relaxed sense of security. Beautiful

  20. claudia says:

    pressing the cheek to the heartbeat…there’s so much comfort and intimacy in this

  21. sweet nostalgia cradles me… I love that ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. Tony Maude says:

    This is beautiful all the way through, but that ending is truly exquisite.

    “Sweet dreams are made of these,
    who am I to disagree?”
    Eurythmics

  23. Very tender and excellently realised Gretchen – I will be back to read more… With Best Wishes Scott http://www.scotthastie.com

  24. Beautifully composed and very sweet

Leave a Reply

