Vibrato – A Poem & Dedication

This is dedicated to Willemijn Verkaik of Wicked who inspired me to keep singing even if its just when I’m alone.

A deep green
vibrato leads
dramatic scenes
Hovering high
at fifty octaves
above my own
& new strings
Holding aged lights
framing this decades’
theme shoved tight
/ like a crescendo of
unforgettable notes
into one way streets
As we walk / we
wander to where
new-old classic
Broadway meets

Gretchen Leary 2013

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Dedications, Music, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Vibrato – A Poem & Dedication

  1. brian miller says:

    smiles…did you write this in the city…or just remembering your time there? i like how you make sound almost visible in this…it is def a character in the city…really cool internal rhym in this…interesting structure…smiles

    hope your week is going well…

  2. I miss it, too… usually for about five minutes after I arrive, I’m over it. Too old, I guess. Can’t take the noise, the tension, the 258 things vying for my attention at the same time.

    This is the one, right? The green thing? Now I’m thinking you could have nicknamed it “The Hulk,” ha ha ha ha. Love, Amy

Leave a Reply

