The Choice – A Poem

For dVersePoets: On the topic of “Irony”

How many ways
can you say
the same name?
Living like it’s
Groundhog Day
with a double-twist
of poetic irony-
How many hits
can my face take
Turning the
proverbial cheek
before I learn
the prophetic moral
of this twisted story?
How many pairs
of other’s shoes
must I wear to
Compare & fit the
doublesided truth?
How many days
must pass before
I realize that it’s
not really about you?
Passing through this
labyrinth of lies
I listen for the
answer hidden
in unspoken words
While I watch three
Broken worlds
COLLIDE /
I find a slice of light
between the lines…
Therein lies my choice
To either crash & burn
Or learn to let go
of -all – I don’t – know
To find my own voice

Gretchen Leary 2013

About Gretchen Leary

I am 31 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in dVersePoets Prompt, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Choice – A Poem

  1. brian miller says:

    mmmnice close on this…finding ones own voice is important…its easy to hide behind others…safe…but then again we rob ourselves of being real as well…letting go of all i dont know…interesting line that as well…to think on.

  2. wolfsrosebud says:

    some great questions… and an unspoken word hard for a writer

  3. claudia says:

    it is certainly a process to find the own voice and we daily decide what we hold on to and what we let go…

  4. Lots to consider here, Gretchen. I guess this is one of the most fundamental tasks of development–allowing ourselves to be separate from. Not always a comfortable task.

  5. Tony Maude says:

    It’s not simply a matter of finding our own voices, we need to be confident in them too – and that is even harder to do.

  6. Grace says:

    I think we are all searching for our voice, and once we find it, we must nourish it ~

  7. Learning to let go is a hard one…and as Tony says feeling confident in your own voice…that can take a very long time… thought provoking poem Gretchen! 🙂

  8. Gretchen, I loved this. I see myself in these lines.

  9. Sabio Lantz says:

    Fascinating twist on re-takes, repeats and returns.

    PS: don’t know if it is intentional, but in your “About Gretchen Leary” you spelled “chair” as “char”.

  10. This is down to the core about the flipside of irony.
    There are so many dangers, when being ironic is misunderstood.

    Very good. I like it.

  11. Mary says:

    I think we all have to find our own voice and once we find it not be talked out of it.

  12. The “it’s not all about you” part is something one realizes after either a period of time with the same person, or a series of relationships that (curiously) end the same. I was the latter, always choosing narcissists. People pleaser, never thinking at all of my own needs, let alone communicating them to my partner. Ah – authenticity is found in that lovely voice, your voice, sure and honest. Lovely response to the post, Gretchen. Love, Amy

  13. zongrik says:

    you find your voice, and then you learn something new, change your vies, and you have a whole new voice

    First Rose

  14. vbholmes says:

    So many questions, and as you answer one, replacements vie to fill the void. Well said, Gretchen.

  15. Thought-provoking and introspective love it!

  16. I love this because you poured you truth into it Gretchen – Bravo 🙂

Leave a Reply

