Surrender – A Poem

Submitted to dVersePoets: Poetics

Like a cool hand
against a warm cheek
A gentle breeze swirls
& dances between
soft gold rays that
stream down through
powder clouds
as I lean
against
an old oak
& breathe out
Tired toes st-re-tch
Feet resting in petals &
green // as I stare up into
quiet skies // my heavy eyes
flutter & surrender to dreams

Gretchen Leary 2013

About Gretchen Leary

I am 31 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Surrender – A Poem

  1. Beautifully written Gretchen 🙂

  2. Oh, this is enchanting.

  3. Sounds like you are in a good place. Nothing more relaxing that communing with nature and allowing yourself to str-e-t-c-h! Wish there was a common woodlands between our houses where we could sit on a log and just ponder life… Amy

  4. This is delightful, Gretchen, I can almost feel that old oak …

  5. Love the stretching of the toes. The toes never lie, they know when there’s comfort.

  6. claudia says:

    the feet resting in petals and green…toes stretching…and dreaming..sounds beautiful to me..also love the leaning against the oak..i do this when i feel i need hold, lean against a tree…somehow makes me feel grounded

  7. aprille says:

    Lovely and competent as per usual.
    How DO you do it, each time.
    My ears need an -n- before the old oak though. Or else it sounds like coughing.

  8. Mary says:

    Love ‘feet resting in petals of green.’ This poem expresses the true essence of spring.

  9. Laurie Kolp says:

    Sounds like the perfect place for a nap. I love powder clouds.

  10. Grace says:

    I like the breathing out and stretching my feet against the green ~ Very restful to read ~

  11. To picture oneself in a place whilst reading words is indeed a pleasure. You had me leaning against the old oak tree and st-re-tching my toes in the warm of the sun, lovely read Gretchen.

  12. rmp says:

    I love the first lines and the image of the sun’s rays dancing. you describe such a picturesque and peaceful moment, I can see how easy it would be to surrender.

  13. such choice expressions that really evoked the sense of very early spring for me –

    “powder clouds” – “quiet skies”

    and of course that initial entry :

    “A gentle breeze swirls
    & dances between
    soft gold rays”

    and with that beginning cool / warm reference, perfect 😉 really enjoyed this, thanks gretchen!

  14. What better way to spend some free time on a pleasant spring day. Beautiful.

  15. kkkkaty says:

    Nice, Gretchen..reminds of the old days, but I can still do that 😉

  16. Gretchen, this had the feel of long ago. Simply being in the moment. A lovely thought, and I did enjoy the str-et-ch part… the way you wrote it is the way it feels. Heaven. Love, Amy

Leave a Reply

