Turquoise – A Poem

For dVersePoets: Poetics

Slowly I slip my two
pale city-tone feet
into a blanket of
warm white sand
As I close my eyes
to listen to the sounds
of the crystal ocean
I open just one eye
to see the turquoise
vision of tranquility
and of a love we own
as one // & can feel a
calm wave of peace
washing over me
like a mist as I lie
Beneath the Jamaican sun

Gretchen Leary 2013

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in dVersePoets Prompt, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Turquoise – A Poem

  1. heidi says:

    That’s a hellofa trip!

  2. brian miller says:

    ah….i just want to relax in the moment…i love the beach…the texture of the warm sand…the sound of the waves…the soft lil of the gulls…sigh…think i will just sit here a moment…smiles.

  3. Vividly peceful and serene. An enjoyable read!

  4. aprille says:

    Hiya Gretchen,
    I want a trip like that 🙂
    Loved the way you dug your toes into the sand. That always feels so good, doesn’t it.

  5. Mary says:

    This sounds so very restful and peaceful, Gretchen.

  6. ManicDdaily says:

    Sounds pretty great! A lovely mood here. k.

  7. Grace says:

    I want to listen to the ocean and lie beneath that jamaican sun ~ i am envious but its something i plan to do come summer 🙂

  8. Rallentanda says:

    Beautiful imagery of the sun sand and sea.Pale city tone feet…I like:)

  9. Such a relaxing scene – I want to be there in that warm sun! K

  10. Laurie Kolp says:

    Are you serious? I am so jealous!

  11. Ahhhh nice… I do this often as it sounds just like where I live…lovely Gretchen!

  12. Renee Espriu says:

    Sounds simply heavenly and I can close my eyes and see it clearly.

  13. BeingMama says:

    Such a peaceful, tranquil peace. I can see the blue…

  14. dulzimordash says:

    Reblogged this on Nature’s Abhorred Vacuum.

  15. msmeme803 says:

    I can just invision the sight..such a clear image…

  16. Ah! Gorgeous! Now this is a poem I can go to sleep after reading, and dream of island beaches.

  17. claudia says:

    oh wow…that sounds like the place to be…the warm sand, the humming of the ocean…made me sigh deeply…

  18. In not a beach person my self. But I can clearly feel the tranquility in your poem. I love walking in warm sand.

  19. Tony Maude says:

    Oh, to feel that warm sand between my toes; thanks to your beautiful poem, I can – at least in my head. Thanks for warming another chilling Scottish morning.

  20. Oh, this feels so peaceful ~ lovely, Gretchen.

  21. kkkkaty1 says:

    There’s nothing like a vacation in the Caribbean..the color of the water…I’m glad you have such a peaceful memory 😉

  22. I feel like I have neglected the ocean for too long. Must go to the beach today !

  23. ah, you’re just showing off how great it is to be on vacation. hah

  24. Hah. Every time I’m on the beach without sunglasses I end up squinting through one eye to minimize the glare. That’s the first thing t I thought of when I read your poem. After reflection, I imagine your eyes are still closed when you open your mind’s eye (“I open just one eye…”) to view your “vision of tranquility.” Lovely anyway one reads it.

  25. Mohana says:

    oooo…now i so want a vacation by the sea!!

  26. janehewey says:

    oh my! wow, the serenity here is lovable.

  27. Rowan Taw says:

    Oh I can so feel that sand between my toes..

  28. kelly says:

    Oh my, I felt like I was just there, enjoying the sun. Thanks for that!

Leave a Reply

