Unspoken – A Poem

For dVersePoets: MTB

What I offer as a whisper
is often mistaken as song
So I’ll sing you a story of
a girl who lost her / way
and stumbled along that
golden road to find the
spectrum light of glory
Soft sung melodies that
sit with you and rustle
through vibrant leaves as
I hang the notes up high
to rest my voice, to dry
and the breeze will carry it
through valleys, mountains
like millions of petals flying
through your hair // and in
a rhythm not unlike drums
I’ll urge you to join in to dance
along if you will listen & just give
me a chance, you’ll understand
let’s speak with beat – no words
Give me a stomp, if you can hear me
You’ll feel the verse in your bare feet
I’ll keep singing- but I’m not waiting

Gretchen Leary 2013

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in dVersePoets Prompt, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Unspoken – A Poem

  1. Tony Maude says:

    OOoooooH Gretchen, I love this. The sparse punctuation gives a delicious ambiguity to some of the lines. I especially liked:
    “I’ll urge you to join in to dance
    along if you will listen & just give
    me a chance,”

    My first reading took if you will with dance along; second time through I saw that it belonged to listen.

    • haha well I wrote it while yet again listening to “The Circle of Life” in fact I am still listening to it lol so I felt like it should have little structure and more fluidity πŸ™‚

  2. brian miller says:

    like the encouragement to join in the dance…and banging the drum so others feel the beat you know…nice work in of spectrum as well…smiles..a little hint of you even there…

    stomp
    stomp

    smiles.
    like the but i am not waiting close too.

  3. I love dancing barefoot,
    I’ll stomp for you πŸ™‚

  4. Laurie Kolp says:

    You had my foot tapping… and I love the killer ending, Gretchen!

  5. heidi says:

    Great beginning “What I offer as a whisper/ is often mistaken as song”, very cool, Gretchen.

  6. charleen says:

    It sounds a little like heartbreak to me.

  7. I’d stomp, but my little dog is at my feet sleeping. But here’s my virtual stomp, Gretchen. I like how you’ve made this almost like an intimate conversation that draws me in.

  8. nico says:

    I hang the notes up high to rest my voice–what a beautiful image! The music of this piece just draws one in. Who could help but dance along?

  9. Gretchen, my dear, you are flawless. TOnight the poems are ripping at my heart. I could hear angels singing this. TO me it is sad because it brings memories of my sister, but I know it could mean many a thing, but it was encouraging as well, a strength of continuation, the power of time’s relentless drive forward, regardless. I know I sound like ramble, but I have missed your voice. Such a gift you have!

  10. You got it πŸ™‚

  11. claudia says:

    i like the speaking with beat so much…sometimes trying to feel the rhythm of another person makes us understand them better than words ever could

  12. So delightful, those first quiet steps into a self assured dancer… a magical stomp!!

  13. Akila says:

    I willkeep singing i am not waiting…such should be the power of the voice! very strong and clear!!

  14. ninotaziz says:

    Music always resonates for you Gretchen…Lovely poem. And it compels us to dance with you. That’s fantastic!

  15. the music in this just rolls along wonderfully….I love the last line…almost a come and get me!!!

  16. Rowan Taw says:

    Glorious – I just simply love it, and why wait..

Leave a Reply

