The Walk – A Poem

Ten tiny fingers tightly
gripping a faded photograph
Tattered & torn edges
I carried “Daddy”
with me everywhere
I dreamt he was a hero
& wondered if I had his eyes
Waddling to crawling
Crawling to walking &
Some dreams are just lies
Decades pass by quickly
Here I am, in white satin
my manicured hands
Gripping roses instead
Here I stand, I listen
again for my cue to walk
wishing again that that man
who turned out not to be
a hero, not Superman
Was here, to walk with me
Left foot, together, right –
He was never there really
Just a dream-
Just breathe – Smile
You’ve walked longer than
this long, church aisle alone
Right foot – together left
Somedays it still hurts –
Somedays I wonder where
that old photo went,
& then remember to forget again

Gretchen Leary 2013

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Walk – A Poem

Leave a Reply

