My Truth – A Poem

I heard what I needed
and blocked out what
was really said
I told you that what
I wanted was a friend
Something beyond
your veiled intentions

You said you tried
your best and
my pride let it slide
when you spoke
out of line from
time to time
I guess my selfish side
blindsided me from what
was staring right at me

It’s only now that I can see
that you clearly never intended
to keep those boundaries
You had other plans instead

Looking back it
seems so calculated
I feel so betrayed
and so ashamed
Looking back it
wasn’t complicated
You knew all along
what was at stake

You said you tried
your best and
my pride let it slide
when you spoke
out of line from
time to time
I guess my selfish side
Blindsided me from what
was staring right at me

It’s like you blended
your wants with mine
until it became something
It wasn’t – that wasn’t right…

All I wanted was a friend

And you once said to
speak my truth
So here it is, again

I wish it never happened
I no longer feel confused
The true miracle is this:
I found myself once more &
I hope the same for you…

All I wanted was a friend.

Gretchen Leary 2013

About Gretchen Leary

I am 31 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Truth – A Poem

  1. Anna :o] says:

    Sad words Gretchen. Sometimes all is not what it seems.

    Anna :o]

Leave a Reply

