Really, Really Like Me

20130629-201028.jpg

Dear Reader,

My hopes and dreams for my new children’s book “Really, Really Like Me” go above and beyond the expectations that I had with my two poetry books.

I am hoping it will make a difference for children everywhere. I want to see even very young children celebrate their similarities and differences without stigmas, bullying, or judgment. I want to see this book on elementary school shelves all over the country if it’ll help. It may seem like an impossible dream but it’s my dream.

As an adult who wasn’t diagnosed with Aspergers Syndrome (which will soon be grouped into Autism Spectrum Disorder in the DSM-V) until I was already an adult, I know what it feels like to feel different and not understand.

My dream is that we can teach our children that being different isn’t so bad. This book is interactive took keep the child’s attention and was illustrated by none other than the amazing Dani Bowman of Powerlight Studios.

What started out as a suddenly inspiration to write a children’s book one night has turned into a reality. I am really, really excited to introduce “Really, Really Like Me” to the world. I believe that as long as we hold on to hope, it still lives on.

Sincerely,
Gretchen Leary

Support independent publishing: Buy this book on Lulu.

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in ASD, Aspergers, Autism, Really, Really Like Me and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Really, Really Like Me

  1. Jen says:

    It’s out? I didn’t realize! Where can I buy it????

  2. Jen says:

    Thanks! I scrolled right by it! LOL.

  3. Pingback: Really, Really Like Me | myaspiewife

  4. Congratulations! Very exciting- and such an important topic. Good luck!!

  5. thatkaz says:

    I am so happy I have a copy, even if it is before the errors were found! Ha ha!

  6. aspiewriter says:

    Congratulations!!! Very exciting.

Leave a Reply

