The Daydreamer – A Poem

For dVersePoets: Poetics

I remember the popular girls…
brushing their long hair
or twisting curls
before class like a row
of pretentious Rapunzel’s
Complaining that
their double zero
jeans make them look fat
Really, come on- what is that?

I remember tapping my pen
distracted by everything
Chemistry was white noise
While I scribbled away
I couldn’t help it, I had
fallen hopelessly in love
with the world of poetry

twirling my hair around
my finger letting my pen linger
with every adjective that
struck me as silly –
Flirting with every sound
in this poetic teenage fantasy
of wonderlands and castles

only I didn’t want a prince to
come rescue me // that is of
course – until the clock hands
Struck three & I had to stop writing

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in dVersePoets Prompt, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Daydreamer – A Poem

  1. boundless444 says:

    I loved this. Can absolutely relate to this poem

  2. Mary says:

    Ha, I remember those popular “Rapunzels” as well. Every class must have them. I love the idea of flirting with every sound in this poetic fantasy of wonderlands and castles. This sounds like my world of school as well, and sometimes I wonder where these “Rapunzels” are today! Ha.

  3. Gretchen, so enjoyed this. I think many of us can relate to it…especially, for me, the white noise of chemistry while I doodled or wrote poems. And ended up using chemistry in my career…ha.

  4. Grace says:

    I love the enchantment and being lost in that world of verses ~ I also had my share of Rapunzel like classmates ~ Me, I was more like Mulan, smiles ~ Happy weekend ~

  5. LaTonya says:

    Different culture and time, but I every group has the their beauty and most of us aren’t in that minority. Enjoy how you wove the prompt with your speaker’s story.

  6. brian miller says:

    flirting with every sound….smiles…i was writing short story back in the day as my way of escape…i was not exactly a prince charming…ha…i grew into it like poetry…smiles…good to see you ma’am

  7. Rallentanda says:

    My world was totally interior at school. I just had the thoughts but never penned them on to paper

  8. Mohana says:

    Simply loved this, Gretchen!

  9. claudia says:

    ha the white noise of chemistry…can relate to that…unfortunately i didn’t write poetry back in school…would’ve made things easier probably.. it’s nice to get lost in those words..

  10. Yes I remember to cool girls and the cool boys to.. Myself a science nerd I fell in love with the chemistry instead.. The passion of numbers and equations .. But I can so relate to this…

  11. vandana says:

    At such a tender age I guess all of us want a prince/ princess…nice

  12. ninotaziz says:

    Hi Gretchen! I haven’t been around – but I loved this. Always was the loner with stories and poetry in my head. we didn’t have rapunzels in an all residential girls’ boarding school, more like the whole disneyworld princesses in each class.

    Until today, I remain, the one writing away. Like Jo, in Little Women.

  13. Dulce says:

    so true…
    So fat we used to be size 10

  14. kkkkaty says:

    I remember those years, those times in class; ironic how we grow up sooner that they…

Leave a Reply

