Comfort Zone

Okay, it has been a very busy day.

This morning I had my surgical consultation to get my bottom wisdom teeth taken out. One of them has been causing some problems and they’re both impacted. I’m not sure why I was nervous…maybe because I’ve been trying to avoid thinking about it. I’ve had plenty of operations but something about oral surgery sounds worse which is kind of silly.

Then we went to get my new glasses. I was really excited. You see, I’ve always hated glasses but I wound up with a double eye infection recently and decided it was time to give my eyes a break. In order to go through with it I decided to take something I struggle with and mix it with one of my special interests – a new concept. I saw a Tiffany & Co. frame in the store and that was it. I wanted only those. Especially when I found out that they didn’t cost a million dollars like their jewelry. Thank goodness for FSA and a good sale at the store. It’s not like I’m rich, in fact, quite the opposite. I just don’t shop often.

I am very nearsighted (-9.25 now) so glasses tend to shrink my eyes a lot. But these glasses actually look nice or at least I think so. This is good because it’ll encourage me to keep wearing them even on days where my sensory stuff is almost too much.

My trips to NYC and seeing Broadway shows may give the illusion that I can handle way more than the average person on the Autism Spectrum and that I have lots of money. Wrong. It’s hard but the thing is that Broadway is one of my other special interests and since when I’m there I am so hyper-focused on seeing the show, the rest seems a lot easier to handle and just obstacles to something I love.

Plus, even with the crowds and noise there is something magical about NYC for emotional & sentimental reasons and we only stay for one night, one show and then we go home. Home- home is always there to decompress after. We are going back to NYC right before Christmas. Same idea – one night and one show and then back home. Another compromise in a way. We don’t shop there or go spend lots there. Just what we went for and only for that short time. It’s not cheap but it’s like a brief dose of heaven (the shows) and the lights are pretty too at night.

Speaking of the city – later on today we went into Boston. We rarely go into the city here. We went on Codzilla. It was a little anxiety provoking but the breeze was nice. I got soaking wet which could have been horrible but because of how hot its been, it actually helped a little.

At first the heat and crowd were really agitating. I was really struggling to be calm and have a positive attitude. I had to really refocus to remind myself to focus on what was important and that was quality time.

Then we went to the New England Aquarium after for a bit. I haven’t been there in a long long long time. Their new tank is pretty awesome.

Now it’s time to relax a little. It’s been a very hectic day. Lately, I’ve taken to trying to get out more. My comfort zone is at home with defused lighting curled up in our arm chair reading a funny book. But Ive realized its okay to step out of that comfort zone knowing I will be going home afterwards. So this was awesome to have a busy but positive experience out in the public. But now I get to relax and curl up with a good book for a little while.

Victories are victories no matter how small they may seem. At least its a step in the right direction. 🙂

20130713-192129.jpg

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in ASD, Aspergers, Autism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comfort Zone

  1. Bek says:

    Lovely frames! And they came with Tiffany blue cloths & case? Bonus! Hope the surgery goes smoothly! I have had loads of dental work and loads still to come. Not fun at all! I do ask for the X-ray apron to stay on for the whole visit as it’ s weighted and calming…

Leave a Reply

