Connecting the Dots – A Poem

Like little Legos
this part of me
un-clicks & lets go

and then
every once
in awhile
I smile &

Something clicks
& I miss the
good old days
that didn’t feel good then

when I was young
& in denial of who I was
All because of my
insecurity

But ready
or not…
I’ve connected the dots…

& here is the real me

Gretchen Leary 2013

I’m listening to songs from my school years today. Backstreet Boys, Nsync, Britney, you name it. It’s kind of fun to look back and remember what should have been “the good old days” except that they really weren’t for the most part even though the final day of school each year was usually pretty good.

But I was hiding who I was most of that time. Most people didn’t know I was a lesbian and I wasn’t diagnosed with Aspergers Syndrome until I was 23. Most of those people still don’t. Part of going to twelve schools before I graduated comes along with not really fitting in with any of those schools.

But it’s fine. Always best to move forward anyways. 🙂

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in ASD, Aspergers, Autism, Equality, GLBTQ, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Connecting the Dots – A Poem

  1. This one speaks to me Gretchen – from the legos to the dots at the end. So glad I’m not a teenager anymore – you express that feeling of looking back so well here.

  2. Pingback: Connecting the Dots – A Poem | Ransae's Blog

Leave a Reply

