Stormy Weather

20130729-204233.jpg

When a storm is coming, I can feel it.

I’m not talking about ESP. What I mean is that my anxiety and sensory issues go into overdrive. Maybe its the barometric pressure. My ears throb, my head hurts, my body aches…but it helps me write.

Stormy weather inspires me. The rain, the thunder, the wind. I’m not the biggest fan of lightning but honestly it has its own beauty.

You probably noticed that I write a lot of poetry inspired by stormy weather. It’s not only inspiration it’s so symbolic to me. Of course it’s also dramatic and intense which is what I feel like all the time on the inside. So to see the skies sort of portray what I feel like on the inside so beautifully and powerfully, its almost mesmerizing.

One thing is for sure though…I don’t like weathering storms alone. Maybe that’s part of it. It brings people closer together. There’s something about the possibility of danger and weathering it together makes my family feel more like family.

When the microburst hit my summer camp years ago, it brought us together. During Hurricane Rita in Texas, we all helped pack things up to evacuate. But that is a different level, sometimes there’s just something inspirational about a simple rain shower with a touch of thunder. Oh! We can’t forget the rainbows!

But as long as I have my family, my slippers, a warm blanket and my journal- I’m good to go.

About Gretchen Leary

I am 31 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in ASD, Aspergers, Autism and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

