Split the Difference

So Thursday I had the oral surgery to remove my bottom wisdom teeth. I don’t feel any more or less wise but I’m still in a whole lot of pain and still having swelling.

I’m still blown away about how agitating this has been. I’ve had major operations in the last few years and yet this one is so frustrating to me. Maybe its because I’m such a picky eater to begin with.

But it’ll get better soon. I hope. It hurts to talk, to laugh, to sit and do nothing.

These stitches aren’t the funny kind.

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in ASD, Aspergers, Autism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Split the Difference

  1. OUCH. I hated having mine out. It hurt to eat, and I found the process really, really icky. The best that can be said of it is it is a fairly rapid healing process… Thankfully!

    • I was surprised that its day six and I’m still having some pain but its back to work tomorrow. At least I did it close to the weekend. I had no clue what I was in for. This was the smallest of my operations since 2007 and yet one of the most uncomfortable most likely because of the dietary restrictions. I like my savory foods much more than sweet stuff and most of the sweet stuff is the soft stuff, can’t win! Lol

      • Aw, I know… I remember cussing out fresh tomatoes because of the seeds.

      • I ate pizza on day 3 by cutting the pieces into tiny tiny tiny tiny pieces and chewing with my front teeth and then swallowing. Lol. I looked ridiculous but after two days of baby food and pudding and sorbet I was nauseated by even the thought of something sweet. My jaws hated me for doing it but it was worth it and it took so long to eat even one piece lol that that my half of the pizza made for at least a couple of meals for me

      • Blessing in that curse, then. My jaw remembers that… I was able to eat spaghetti fairly well. That’s about it. Everything else was sweet ick.

        BUT… Depending on where you live, if you have a good, good Chinese restaurant, they might have what is called jook or sometimes called congee, which is a savory rice porridge. Lovely stuff. If not, I will give you a recipe.

      • Oh I’d love the recipe! I think lo mein as worked well too. Well, as long as it was eaten very slowly. Lol. I ordered food a lot in the last week but I have also had a hard time laying still so I think I won’t have gained too much weight from this lol.

        I think what saved me from nausea was ginger ale. I must have drank 8 bottles of that stuff. It works wonders for it because the pain meds are nasty when it comes to nausea and that’s the last thing I need with stitches in my mouth.

        Blech

      • Aw—Ginger ale is crucial… Here’s a good basic recipe. I like to poach an egg or do some over easy and serve on top, along with scallions and sesame oil, but any toppings you want–and you can make with vegetable stock if you want to go vegan…

        http://www.foodiewithfamily.com/2009/03/17/basic-jook-aka-juk-congee-or-rice-porridge-we-interrupt-this-blog-for-a-massive-head-cold/

Leave a Reply

