Rose Colored Glasses

Sometimes I wish I knew what it felt like to feel at peace with the world. For me, I feel like the world is buzzing around me. The lights, the sounds, the textures, and so on and so on.

I want to know what it feels like to just sit in a chair for hours quietly with no anxiety and not constantly fidgeting, tugging at my clothes, or moving my hair.

I have a reading chair. I sit with my legs over it and for a short time I feel lost in the words and the feel of the pages as I turn them assuming its the kind of paper that I like.

I want to feel happily at peace with my environment but it seems like such an impossible goal. I am determined to figure it out.

There has to be a way.

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in ASD, Aspergers, Autism and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rose Colored Glasses

  1. You will find your peace. My girls like to go to the bottom of a deep pool for as long as they can stand it. Or wrap in blankets on a hammock, including over their heads. You will find your soft, warm, enveloping Hobbit Hole.

  2. Talicha J. says:

    There is always a way 🙂 sometimes it’s finding the way to the way that’s tricky lol

Leave a Reply

