Softer – A Poem

Wild fire on ice
my cheek to pillow
sleep seems like
a half a sheep away
even though
my mind refuses
to just let go

Though it seems close
like a staircase
of pastel clouds and
even my thought-prints
are weary / I ascend
slowly to that softer
place of peace
where there are
no more racing worries
no haste, no doubt
& everything slows down //

to a softer place of dreams

Gretchen Leary 2013

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Softer – A Poem

  1. This is a beautiful poem. 🙂

  2. Talicha J. says:

    Very nice work Gretchen! I loved the time of this poem 🙂

Leave a Reply

