Impact

It is so exciting anytime I hear that someone one there in the world has read “Really, Really Like Me”.

Last weekend, I decided to make a short appearance at a conference at a local university to do a book signing. With my illness it was quite a test of my determination and willpower even though I was not there all that long. But to see my book in print and talk to people at the table, felt like such an honor.

To receive feedback from the places I have donated copies to, is also not only exciting but humbling. I don’t expect to see much money for me and as I’ve said before, that was never the goal with this book. I’ve spent hundreds of dollars donating and shipping copies around the world and even though I am not only not wealthy, I’m not even well off – it was worth it to know I could potential make a different somewhere out there in Greece, Spain, Trinidad, China etc.

It has given me a newfound sense of peace in a way. Because Autism is no joke and children and adults, even high functioning ones like me struggle everyday with feeling misunderstood.

I set up a fund on gofundme to raise money to fly to the Philippines for a short stay and to make a documentary and about the making of the book and what I hope will be happening with the book and translation in the coming year.

Aside from an amazing distraction from being stuck on the couch or bed, this whole project has really just blown me away on so many levels. To feel like I got to connect with people around the world, really makes one of my dreams feel like it’s coming full circle. (If you don’t know what I’m talking about, go to Short Stories and read Words of Affirmation)

I hope I’ll get well, I’m sure I’ll get well. But truly we only have so much time on this Earth and whether I am healthy or sick, I am determined to make the best of it.

If life was easy, what would be the point in strong friendships? What would be the point in Heaven? I believe everything happens for a reason and I’m determined to learn my lesson to grow from all of this.

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in ASD, Aspergers, Autism, Really, Really Like Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

