Ask Away

So I’ve decided that if there is enough interest, I’m going to create at least one YouTube video where I will speak out about what it’s like to be an adult with Asperger Syndrome, more specifically I guess (since I can only speak of my own experiences) as a female adult with Aspergers.

But I want to know what people want to know. If you have a question you would like me to address, please leave it in the comments section or send me an email at authorleary @ gmail . com

Ask away!

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in ASD, Aspergers, Autism and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ask Away

  1. merelyquirky says:

    I don’t have any idea what to suggest. (I’m still in the “omg that’s me! that’s me too!” phase, and don’t have much perspective on a broader scale.) Format wise, it’s either 1) broad overview, 2) personal illustrative story, or 3) to pick a particular topic (Aspie trait, difficulty, or advantage) and talk about that.
    Sorry we aren’t being too helpful on this.

  2. I really like merelyquirky’s suggestions on this. Since I’m not good at big-picture stuff, I can’t help you format-wise, but I do have a few questions you may or may not want to use:
    1. What do you personally feel are key differences between males and females on the spectrum?
    2. Do you believe that there are people who are almost on the spectrum (ie. have a lot of autistic traits) but aren’t actually autistic? If so, in what ways do you think their lives are different from yours?
    3. How do you handle it when friends/family/strangers tell you you don’t look autistic? Have you ever had an experience with a professional telling you that you don’t seem autistic? If so, how did you deal with that?
    4. What made you decide to pursue a diagnosis at 23? Did others support this?
    5. In what ways do you think your life might have been different if you’d been diagnosed as a child?
    6. What is your personal opinion on self-diagnosis?

    I tried not to include anything you’ve answered on your blog already, but I haven’t had time to read through all the posts, so I may have accidentally done so. If I have, I apologise.

Leave a Reply

