The Climb – A Poem

As I climb this mountain

the taste of silence

like used oxygen

from a tired crowd

Ripples in and heaves

out in clouds

my calloused fingers

crack like the limestone

crumbling beneath them

and yet I reach higher

with more momentum

Despite the darkness setting in-

As I climb this mountain

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Climb – A Poem

  1. Talicha J. says:

    Great strength Gretchen! Nice work 🙂

Leave a Reply

