Meet Me Half Way #Autism

Dear World,

Technically today is yesterday’s tomorrow and yet we always hope for more moving forward.

Tomorrow is an important day for me. As the Boston Globe and the MetroWest Daily News announced, I will be sharing my story at the Morse Institute Library tomorrow April 26th at 2PM in Natick, MA. (Please email me if you are interested in going – gretchenleary @ yahoo dot com)

As I prepare my notes tonight, I am listening to “For Good” (from Broadway’s Wicked), thinking about my goal for this speech. If I can touch just one person’s heart and inspire them to keep believing and never give up by sharing my journey to self acceptance and the coping skills that I have gained along the way, I will feel like I have accomplished my goal.

There will be many tomorrows in this lifetime, but this song is an emotional one that really touches my own heart. I have had to say many goodbyes in my life. I usually walk away learning something important. But now my focus has shifted to a positive place and with a hope that people I will meet in the future will accept me for who I am, disability and all.

I hope to help find this acceptance for everyone through speaking and through my writing. We all have a voice, we all have a story, and we all want to feel validated. But my hope is that if the Autism community receives this new acceptance, it will change the world for good. In fact, I know it will.

This isn’t like asking for world peace. It’s simply asking the world to listen with their hearts and for a little bit of patience.

Let’s meet half way.

Sincerely,
Gretchen Leary

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in ASD, Aspergers, Autism and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

