Please Watch #Derek

Today has filled me with a mixture of emotions. Part of that is that I try to avoid discussing violence at all costs. Violence actually scares me.

I am so grateful to everyone who took part in the #AutismIsNotACrime flash blog today to counter the hate speech on Twitter, but it was not until I found hate-like speech on my own blog tonight (Dear Media post) that it really, truly hit home. I left it up for others to respond to but please be gentle and not hateful. I left it up to set show others examples of why we did the flash blog.

When I think of a way to relate to this public that have never met someone with Autism (Aspergers is a form of Autism) I think of Netflix’s “Derek” tv show series. Season 2 is almost here but Season 1 is absolutely moving. If you haven’t seen it I hope you check it out. Ricky Gervais’ character moved me so deeply that I’m not even sure how to put it into words.

But I’m done discussing violence for awhile guys, it just scares me. I try to avoid the news for that very reason but I felt compelled to stick up for my community when I saw so many misleading media headlines and so many cruel tweets…

I felt like I was attacked, my community was attacked, and naturally this is all so sad at the same time for the families grieving. My prayers go out to his family and the families who lost loved ones.

It’s all too much. I need a break from this discussion to focus on something uplifting.

Call me an optimist but I believe that we will see a more understanding society one day. I am devoted to be a part of that happening. I want to help lift our community up in every way I can.

Thank-you all again for the amazing united front we had today on Twitter.

Ignorance cannot break our spirit.

-GL

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in ASD, Aspergers, Autism and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Please Watch #Derek

  1. You are so strong. I am sorry that people can be so cruel and thoughtless.

Leave a Reply

