Heavy – A Poem

Tired toes tap on cooling concrete

as Mosquitos and the Blues are buzzing

Low and lonely in my ears tonight

Summer heat hangs heavy

like ancient memories and I-

Just wish you were with me

on these melancholy steps

and I wouldn’t trade your

company for

anybody’s shadow //

Baby, you don’t even know

Baby, if you could only see

the colors harping

these heartstrings

I can’t sit still

so I’ll keep swaying

and lift my mind

from that grave that

the neighbor’s dog

digs deeper everyday

beneath that old, old tree

and keep squinting up

at the hazy stars above me

See, I’ve already waited a decade

So I’ll keep waiting…

and I’ll keep on swaying

Really now // baby //  what’s another day?

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Heavy – A Poem

  1. You gave me an idea for wordpress. TC O_o

Leave a Reply

